Lynn Austin {book titles/ reviews}

Lynn Austin is one of my top favorite authors.  Here’s her bio:

LynnAustinFor many years, Lynn Austin nurtured a desire to write but frequent travels and the demands of her growing family postponed her career. When her husband’s work took Lynn to Bogota, Colombia, for two years, she used the B.A. she’d earned at Southern Connecticut State University to become a teacher. After returning to the U.S., the Austins moved to Anderson, Indiana, Thunder Bay, Ontario, and later to Winnipeg, Manitoba.

It was during the long Canadian winters at home with her children that Lynn made progress on her dream to write, carving out a few hours of writing time each day while her children napped. Lynn credits her early experience of learning to write amid the chaos of family life for her ability to be a productive writer while making sure her family remains her top priority.

Extended family is also very important to Austin, and it was a lively discussion between Lynn, her mother, grandmother, and daughter concerning the change in women’s roles through the generations that sparked the inspiration for her novel Eve’s Daughters.

Along with reading, two of Lynn’s lifelong passions are history and archaeology. While researching her Biblical fiction series, Chronicles of the Kings, these two interests led her to pursue graduate studies in Biblical Backgrounds and Archaeology through Southwestern Theological Seminary.

She and her son traveled to Israel during the summer of 1989 to take part in an archaeological dig at the ancient city of Timnah. This experience contributed to the inspiration for her novel Wings of Refuge.

Lynn resigned from teaching to write full-time in 1992. Since then she has published twelve novels. Eight of her historical novels have won Christy Awards for excellence in Christian Fiction: Hidden Places (2001), Candle in the Darkness (2002), Fire by Night (2003), A Proper Pursuit (2007), Until We Reach Home (2008), Though Waters Roar (2009) While We’re Far Apart (2010), and Wonderland Creek (2011).

Fire by Night was also one of only five inspirational fiction books chosen by Library Journal for their top picks of 2003, and All She Ever Wanted was chosen as one of the five inspirational top picks of 2005. Lynn’s novel Hidden Places has been made into a movie for the Hallmark Channel, starring actress Shirley Jones. Ms Jones received a 2006 Emmy Award nomination for her portrayal of Aunt Batty in the film.

Lynn’s blogs about her writing process on her website, which also lists all of her books and links to her social media sites and places to purchase her books.  She is also on Goodreads.

Titles which I have read are linked to my review. The titles are listed by year of publication. See below for a list of her book series.

  • Gods and Kings  – Kings #1  1995
  • Song of Redemption – Kings #2  1995
  • Fly Away  1996
  • The Strength of His Hand – Kings #3  1996
  • Faith of My Fathers – Kings #4  1997
  • Among the Gods  – Kings #5  1998
  • Eve’s Daughters  1999
  • Wings of Refuge  2000
  • Hidden Places  2001
  • Candle In the Darkness – Refiner’s Fire #1  2002
  • Fire By Night – Refiner’s Fire #2  2003
  • A Light to My Path – Refiner’s Fire #3  2004
  • All She Ever Wanted  2005
  • A Woman’s Place  2006
  • A Proper Pursuit  2007
  • Until We Reach Home  2008
  • Though Waters Roar  2009
  • While We’re Far Apart  2010
  • Wonderland Creek  2011
  • All Things New  2012
  • Return to Me – Restoration #1   2013
  • Keepers of the Covenant – Restoration #2   2014
  • On This Foundation – Restoration #3  2015
  • Waves of Mercy 2016
  • Where We Belong 2017

Below is a listing of the individual book series. Books not included in this list are listed above as stand-alone books.

Chronicles of the Kings Series:

  • Gods and Kings #1  1995
  • Song of Redemption #2  1995
  • The Strength of His Hand #3  1996
  • Faith of My Fathers #4  1997
  • Among the Gods #5  1998

Refiner’s Fire Series:

  • Candle In the Darkness  #1  2002
  • Fire By Night #2  2003
  • A Light to My Path #3  2004

Restoration Chronicles Series:

  • Return to Me #1  2013
  • Keepers of the Covenant #2  2014
  • On This Foundation #3  2015

One thought on “Lynn Austin {book titles/ reviews}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.