Bridge to Haven {book review}


DSCN9236

Bridge to Haven {book review} is my review of Francine Rivers’  most recent book.  To read my Goodreads reviews of her other books click on the titles:

The following is my Goodreads review:
Bridge to HavenBridge to Haven by Francine Rivers
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Public library copy.

Francine Rivers is an excellent author. Her books are well written and give a clear Gospel message in them, and this book is no exception. They are always worth reading. What I’m going to say then, is how I feel about the book.

I waited a couple of days before writing this, just to see what part of the book stayed with me the most. I learned more about Hollywood and how bad men function than I need to know. I don’t know if it’s due to my own life experience, or if it’s the way the characters were portrayed.

I wonder if the whole story is just a bit fantastical and unreal, or if this is really the way it was for some, and if life really turns out this way in the end for some. There was a ton in the book from which to learn the right things, but I feel like the wrong things had too much attraction even in their wrongness and bad consequences.

I really don’t want to criticize the subject or the writing or the author. It’s really hard for a girl who’s been abused to read well-written accounts of abuse, no matter how much time passes. And most girls don’t have fairy tale endings to their stories.

I’m not a writer, but I wonder if this book focused too much on plot. Were the characters strong because of what they did or because of who they were? Was this part of the plot? I like a book that focuses more on characters and truth-telling, character-building, faith-growing. This story depended on circumstances.

Just my opinion. Take it for what it’s worth.

View all my reviews

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

