A Home for My Heart by Anne Mateer {book review}


A Home for My Heart by Anne Mateer {book review}

A fast-moving tale of dreams and faith in an orphanage in a bygone era.  Another fine, fine book by one of my favorite authors, Anne Mateer.  I love the story, based on an historical place using fictitious plot and believable characters, their complex problems, and their personal God.

A Home for My HeartSummary:  Sadie Sillsby works as the assistant to the matron at the Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children and dreams of the day she’ll marry her beau, Blaine. But when the matron surprises everyone by announcing her own engagement, Sadie is suddenly next in line for the job. For a young woman who was once an orphan herself, a shot at such an esteemed position is a wish come true.

But the matron of the Home cannot be married. Is Sadie willing to give up her dreams of a life with Blaine and a family of her own? Is she prepared to forgo daily involvement with the children as she instead manages the financial, legal, and logistical aspects of the orphanage? And when it’s revealed that the Home is spending a lot more money than it’s taking in, can Sadie turn things around before the place is forced to close forever?

My Reaction:

My favorite characters were Blaine and Miranda, because they were faithful and steady in their faith and work.  They are both pictures of God’s grace manifest in their lives and in their actions toward others.

Nothing is wasted in the writing.  It all comes together through many twists and turns.  I confess to being kept up at night, in search of resolution to Sadie’s problems.  No one tried harder than Sadie.  In that sense I identified with her (and because that was my grandmother’s name).

I highly recommend this book.  It is an excellent clean read with a strong faith line.  The characters work together (even the protagonists) to lay out the story with lively description and conversation.

Thanks for another great book, Anne!

My rating:  5 stars

Anne MateerFrom the Author:  While I have been writing for what feels like my whole life, I began seriously studying the craft in 2000. Since then I have completed five novels, had several pieces published in local periodicals, attended six writing conferences and managed to final in ACFW’s Genesis contest in 2006, 2008, and 2009. My first historical novel, Wings of a Dream, released in September 2011. My second, At Every Turn, is available now. But writing is only a piece of my life.

I am mostly just a woman trying to live her life in a manner pleasing to the Lord. That involves being a wife to Jeff and a mother to my three young adult children. Neither role has come easily, but both have stretched me, requiring me to press in closer to Jesus. And because of this, Jesus has taken an insecure, fearful, sometimes angry girl and is turning her into a more trusting, peaceful, grace-filled woman. At least some of the time. There is still such a long way to go!

For more about Anne’s books go to her website where you can connect with her on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

This review, and that of her other books, is posted on Goodreads and Christianbook.com , where you can also read an excerpt from the book.

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

