The Key on the Quilt {book review}


Here’s  my {book review} of another wonderful read from Stephanie Grace Whitson, The Key on the Quilt.  For other great titles by the same author click here for reviews of Stephanie Grace Whitson’s books and scroll to Whitson.

theKeyontheQuilt

Goodreads photo

First, here’s the summary from the back cover:

In 1875 at Nebraska State Penitentiary, three women attempt to pursue God’s purpose for their lives.  Jane Prescott is serving a ten-year sentence for murder.  Can one caring physician help to heal her broken spirit?  And will a cryptic quilt reveal the truth and bring her daughter back to her?

Matron Mamie Dawson feels called to help the wounded women in her charge.  But while helping those around her, will she stubbornly keep the attentions of a kind guard at arm’s length?

Warden’s wife Ellen McKenna has changed her preconceptions about these female prisoners.  But will a life-or-death situation make her change her mind?

Prison walls were made to keep people in, but they cannot keep God’s love out.  In this unique setting, three women find love, truth, and the grace of God.

Here is my Goodreads review:

The Key on the Quilt (The Quilt Chronicles #1)The Key on the Quilt by Stephanie Grace Whitson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Public library copy. Interlibrary loan.

To be honest, I did not like the beginning of this book, but by midway through I was hooked to the end. Looking back, I think it was the story’s dark beginning that bothered me, not the writing. I was reading a large print copy, which did not make for easy reading at first.

I really love this author! Her stories are all different, well researched, and so beautifully woven around the faith of one or more of the characters. This is never a nominal faith, but a daily relationship with, or growing toward such, with the God Who created us and loves us, and His Word, the Bible. This is core to every book, and I love it because it helps me grow in my relationship with God.

What else can I say? I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in American history, women, quilting, faith, spousal abuse, or simply a good character story with multiple threads of romance woven in.

View all my reviews

One thought on “The Key on the Quilt {book review}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

