How’s Your Coordination? {social media}


How’s Your Coordination? {social media}

Last month we talked about Consistency in Planning as it relates to social media. But wait a minute — is planning necessary for social media? Isn’t it more dependent on just showing up?

And why do social media platforms need to be coordinated?  Can’t they function just as well independently of each other?

SocialMedia plan

There are differing views as to the key to successfully using social media platforms to promote a brand or blog content.  The purpose of this post is not to present or argue them.  I’m not saying what’s right for me is right for everyone.  I’m just sharing how I do things, learning as I go.  For this post, we are assuming that consistent planning is necessary for social media use to benefit one’s blog.

So, what’s the plan?  The plan is to coordinate all my social media platforms to work together.  Easier said than done!  I don’t know about you, but I can be myopic when it comes to social media.  I prefer one platform, Twitter, so I use it more often.  Wouldn’t it be better to use one platform consistently?

The experts say to use several platforms, and I agree with them.  It makes sense.  You see everyone doesn’t use my favorite platform.  So if I only share my content on Twitter, for example, I am missing out on a large audience of folks on other platforms such as Pinterest or Facebook.

I can tell you from personal experience, that I already feel handicapped by not using Facebook.  I’ve cut myself off from many people (whom I know in the real world) by closing my account.  We’ll get back to that issue in a future post.

The first step in coordinating social media platforms is to wrap your brain around the idea and embrace it.  Accept that this is the plan, and move forward be it ever so slowly.  Let’s say that again.  Wrap your brain around the idea and embrace it.

Do whatever works best for you to achieve that.  For me writing about it helps me think it through.  Maybe for you it is listening to an audio recording or watching a video or reading.

This next idea is going to sound ridiculous.  I’m going to say it anyway.  Start thinking about your followers as people.  Really.  Even if you think you already do.  I repeat.  Start thinking about your followers as people.

I have found that after a period of time of using a social media platform, particularly with people who don’t actually ‘talk’ to me, I think of them more as a name or a blog or a brand, whatever it is that they do.  And in some cases, I think that’s what they intend.  They don’t really want to be social on social media.  They just want to share pictures just to jack up their numbers.

I digress.  Where were we?  How do we go about coordinating social media platforms?

So I’ve written something about my new book (not me, but maybe you are an author) or I’ve reviewed a really great book that I want to share with the world.  Now what?  I’ve tweeted about it, I’ve included the author and pertinent hashtags in my tweet. I’ve pinned it to my BookList board on Pinterest.  No response.

Now what?

Be repetitive.  First of all, the infamous experts say you need to Tweet and Pin something often, not just once, to be seen.  Part of using social media optimally is to know when your followers are on, so that they see your post.  I am finding of late that the more followers I have, the fewer people are seeing what I post.

 

Time to get creative.  Most of my ideas come from things happening rather incidentally rather than intentionally.  One time I was doing shoutouts on Twitter by combining six or seven individual followers, and I ended up with one left over, to whom I tweeted individually.  That tweet got more traffic than the rest of them combined!  (doesn’t always work that way..)

Use Influencers. If you can figure out how to get an influencer to respond to your post/pin/tweet/message it will boost traffic.  This is hard work, but well worth it.  Many influencers are more personable than the average person if you can get their attention. ( I used to say over 50K followers was an Influencer, but now it’s over 100K.)

Use Analytics.  Twitter is my best example because I use it more.  Twitter has free Analytics.  Maybe other platforms do as well.  When I get a tweet that is generating a good audience I re-tweet the same thing to the same people.  I also retweet to people who have responded, something like #toptweet or #awesome #responders or #youguysareawesome, using hashtags.

Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 4.39.03 PM

The Pinterest Plan.  My immediate plan is to learn more about using Pinterest to promote my blog posts.  I am joining group boards where I can pin my content, and creating cover boards which are more professional and clearly stated (for blog post pins).

Cross follow.  Down the road I plan to pin more of other people’s content.  Before I do that I am working on following people on multiple platforms.  I’ve followed a number of people who have found me, but I have failed to seek out people myself.  That is something I’m working on currently.  Starting with blog followers and Twitter mutual followers and Goodreads, and working on Pinterest, About.me and LinkedIn.  Those are the platforms I am coordinating.

What do you think of Instagram?  Do you use it?  It was on my list until I found out it has been bought by Facebook. #changedmymind

What is your social media plan?

Do you have measurable goals in place?

Set Goals.  2016 is my first year to set blog goals.  I set goals for traffic and posting.

I met my January blog traffic goals, but not all of the posting ones.  January’s usually a high traffic month.  We’ll see how February goes.  Writing this post is a step toward meeting those goals 🙂

Thanks so much for stopping by!  Please feel free to say hello in the comments and enter the discussion about social media.  Until next time, happy planning!

Once a month we write about the aspect of PLANNING in social media. Previous posts include:

Sky’s the Limit

What to do When Your Boat Has a Hole

Twitter Friends

Consistency v. Complacency

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

