With Every Letter by Sarah Sundin {book review}

With Every Letter by Sarah Sundin {book review} is the first book in the Wings of the Nightingale series, followed by On Distant Shores and In Perfect Time.


Lt. Mellie Blake is looking forward to beginning her training as a flight nurse. She is not looking forward to writing a letter to a man she’s never met–even if it is anonymous and part of a morale-building program.

Lt. Tom MacGilliver, an officer stationed in North Africa, welcomes the idea of an anonymous correspondence–he’s been trying to escape his infamous name for years.

As their letters crisscross the Atlantic, Tom and Mellie develop a unique friendship despite not knowing the other’s true identity.

When both are transferred to Algeria, the two are poised to meet face-to-face for the first time. Will they overcome their fears and reveal who they are, or will their future be held hostage by their pasts?

Combining a flair for romance with excellent research and attention to detail, Sarah Sundin vividly brings to life the perilous challenges of WWII aviation, nursing–and true love.

My Reaction:  Absolutely love this book! It’s a library copy.

I was living in the story right along with Tom and Mellie. Sarah has a beautiful way of painting the picture, both the physical and relational scene. Beautiful use of dual point of view. Didn’t know how it would end until it did. I was quite frustrated with Mellie’s desire to remain anonymous!

Well done. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a little WWII history mixed in with their romance. Needless to say (or is it), there is a strong faith element in the book, and it is squeaky clean. Love how both characters, not just one, did lots of personal growing during the story.

Thanks for the trip to N. Africa and Sicily!

My Rating: 4 stars
This review is on Goodreads: With Every Letter by Sarah Sundin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

View all my Goodreads reviews

About the Author: Sarah Sundin enjoys writing about the drama and romance of the World War II era. She is the author of the Waves of Freedom series (Through Waters Deep, 2015, Anchor in the Storm, 2016, When Tides Turn, March 2017), the Wings of the Nightingale series, and the Wings of Glory series. Her novel Through Waters Deep won the 2016 INSPY Award, was a Carol Award finalist, and was named to Booklist’s “101 Best Romance Novels of the Last 10 Years.”

A mother of three, Sundin lives in northern California. She works on-call as a hospital pharmacist and teaches Sunday school and women’s Bible studies. She enjoys speaking to community, church, and writers’ groups.

Check out  Sarah’s blog and her Goodreads page, which both have loads of information about World War II, her books, and other useful links. Follow her on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest, or keep informed by subscribing to her newsletter.  Sarah is one of the most interactive authors I’ve met.


2 thoughts on “With Every Letter by Sarah Sundin {book review}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.