Things We Once Held Dear by Ann Tatlock {book review}


Things We Once Held Dear by Ann Tatlock {book review}

Summary: 

The author of All the Way Home returns with the story of a newly widowed man who returns to his hometown to face an old tragedy. Will reconnecting with his past lead to Neil’s rediscovering the validity of his childhood faith?

 

My Reaction:  

This book was disappointing to me. It took forever for me to get hooked on the story. When I did, I could hardly put it down. The murder mystery was very well done. I did not figure it out. I think the basic reason I didn’t care for the book is that it is a dark story, and the hopelessness outweighs the hope. The ending was okay (without giving it away), but in general, for the length of the book, it was pretty hopeless.

The specific thing with which I take issue is the poor presentation of the Gospel. I kept waiting for one of the characters to spell it out, that believing that Jesus Christ died on the Cross for our sins in our place, that placing our faith in Him guarantees us a place in heaven and eternal life — but it never came. I like a story that speaks plainly of faith and relationship to God. This story majored on the questions, with no clear answer.

The story line was well done. But if you’re looking for strong faith, this is not the book for you.

{I’m going to read other reviews now that I’ve written this. See if I’m alone in my thinking…}

My Rating:  2 stars

This review is posted on Goodreads.

View all my Goodreads reviews

About the Author:  

Ann Tatlock is a novelist and children’s book author. Her books have received numerous awards, including the Christy Award, the Midwest Book Award and the Silver Angel Award for Excellence in Media. She also serves as managing editor of Heritage Beacon, the historical fiction imprint of Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas. She lives with her family in Western North Carolina.

Check out Ann’s other books and news on her website, her Goodreads account, Christianbook.com, and her Twitter account.

Ann is one of my favorite authors. Read more about her here.  View a list of her other books.

SaveSave

One thought on “Things We Once Held Dear by Ann Tatlock {book review}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

