Wings of A Dream by Anne Mateer {book review}


Wings of A Dream by Anne Mateer {book review} is a story deep in character, history, and faith (and yes, romance). This is one of my favorite authors.

Summary:  Debut Author Delivers Sweet Heartwarming Historical Fiction
Rebekah Hendricks dreams of a life far beyond her family’s farm in Oklahoma, and when dashing aviator Arthur Samson promised adventure in the big city, she is quick to believe he’s the man she’s meant to marry.

While she waits for the Great War to end and Arthur to return to her so they can pursue all their plans, her mother’s sister falls ill. Rebekah seizes the opportunity to travel to Texas to care for Aunt Adabelle, seeing this chance to be closer to Arthur’s training camp as God’s approval of her plans.

But the Spanish flue epidemic changes everything. Faced with her aunt’s death, Arthur’s indecisiveness, and four children who have no one else to care for them, Rebeka is torn between the desire to escape the type of life she’s always led and the unexpected love that just might change the dream of her heart.

My Reaction:   I ‘met’ the author on Twitter and decided I should read one of her books, just to see if she was any good (smile), you know? Some day, I hope, you will be able to say the same of me.

I was a little nervous, although this is the second author to go through this process under my scrutiny (another smile). I’m pretty sure God knows what He is doing when He sets these meetings up (smile).

I loved the book! and I choose not to go into detail about the story. You can read the synopsis, you can read the book, and I promise you will not be disappointed.

If it looks straightforward, it is not. If it looks simple, it is not. If it looks like a million other stories, it is not.

The characters, the story, the spiritual aspect of the story, the descriptions, were all good. I was there in another time and place, experiencing what the point of view character went through. When I started reading and saw it was in the first person I thought I might not like it, but the author does a thorough job of sticking to the main character’s point of view, which more than made up for it.

My Rating:  4 stars  I highly recommend this book and author. It’s squeaky clean, some history, some romance, and lots of faith.

Read reviews of Wings of a Dream on Goodreads.

View all my Goodreads reviews.

About the Author:  While I have been writing for what feels like my whole life, I began seriously studying the craft in 2000. Since then I have completed five novels, had several pieces published in local periodicals, attended six writing conferences and managed to final in ACFW’s Genesis contest in 2006, 2008, and 2009. My first historical novel, Wings of a Dream, released in September 2011. My second, At Every Turn, is available now. But writing is only a piece of my life.

I am mostly just a woman trying to live her life in a manner pleasing to the Lord. That involves being a wife to Jeff and a mother to my three young adult children. Neither role has come easily, but both have stretched me, requiring me to press in closer to Jesus. And because of this, Jesus has taken an insecure, fearful, sometimes angry girl and is turning her into a more trusting, peaceful, grace-filled woman. At least some of the time. There is still such a long way to go! 

To learn more about the author and her books, visit her website, sign up for her newsletter, check out her Goodreads page, her Twitter account, Facebook page, and Pinterest boards. And read reviews of her books on Christianbook.com.

For my reviews of Anne’s other books see 2015 Fiction Author Index.

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

One thought on “Wings of A Dream by Anne Mateer {book review}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

