Consistency v. Complacency {social media}


Consistency v. Complacency {social media}.

SocialMedia planOnce a month we write about the aspect of PLANNING in social media.  Previous posts include:

Sky’s the Limit

What to do When Your Boat Has a Hole

Twitter Friends

There’s one thing that defines me well, all the time — CONSISTENCY.

I’m consistently absent, consistently late, consistently wrong, consistently showing up, consistently trying the same thing over and over again, consistently negligent — whatever I do, or neglect to do, I do it CONSISTENTLY, often with the same results.

A co-worker, with more experience and education than I, once told me that the format used (we worked in a college library) was not as important as using the same format consistently.  I have followed her advice which has proven true.

Yet there are areas of consistency which indicate something is amiss.

Consistently planning to do a task which hasn’t been done in months is foolish.  Or is it?

When you come up with a plan that you believe is a good one, how long do you continue to plan for it?

Do you only continue if it works or fits easily into your schedule?

Do you continue planning for it long after others have given up on the idea?

Could this be the difference between an inventor-creator-entrepreneur mindset and that of one who follows the status quo?  I don’t know, that’s why I’m asking you 🙂        Of course, I don’t mind if you don’t answer, I’ll just continue on consistently planning for those things I believe in, whether or not anyone else does.

A year ago I started scheduling a SOCIAL MEDIA Planning post on the third Tuesday of each month.  The first two months I followed through.  Then things fell apart.  I stopped writing posts basically.  Too many changes, things were unsettled in  my world.  One of these days I’ll write about that.

When I wrote out my 2016 blog post schedule, I stuck to the same schedule that didn’t get followed in 2015.  Because it’s a good schedule.  And I think I ought to follow it.

So here’s to using that consistency in planning to convert the consistency in not following the schedule to consistently posting according to schedule!

How do you accomplish your goals?  Do you take time to write them out?  

Do you schedule certain things for certain days/times?  

Do you run your life like a business?  

What do you plan to accomplish in 2016?

Some make it a practice to learn one new social media tool every year.  I think that’s a great plan.  Since I did not learn a new one last year, I plan to double up this year and start using Instagram and 500px.

What are your favorite social media platforms?

What do you plan to learn this year?

I am currently using:  Twitter, LinkedIn, About.me, Pinterest, Hootsuite, Tweetdeck, and Tumblr.

What social media platforms are your least favorite?  Mine is Facebook.

If you enjoyed this article, you might also be interested in reading these social media articles.

4 thoughts on “Consistency v. Complacency {social media}

  1. Karen says:

    Hi Joyce, great thoughts! 🙂 I love what you wrote about consistency LOL – it reminds me of an old quote attributed to Thomas Edison, “I have not failed. I have found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” Ha! How encouraging to keep trying 🙂

    In regards to your other questions, it seems what is working best for me is to come up with a rough plan – a rough idea of what I want to accomplish and the steps to get there and then give myself permission to modify it as I go. So that I’m not trying to force myself into some rigid routine – well, following “the plan” perfectly is not the goal – the plan is the aid that is supposed to help in reaching the goal along with covering the whole thing in prayer and always seeking the Lord’s guidance and wisdom.

    So I’ve tried to learn to be gentle with myself and try not to force myself to be perfect all the time but just keep trying, keep at it, and if I miss a day or two or whatever, just get going again and don’t get discouraged. This is working better.

    The Lord’s words in Luke 8:15 are very encouraging to me that bringing forth fruit requires hearing the word and keeping it and being patient. Being consistent! 🙂 So there is where the not getting discouraged comes in but just keeping at it for His glory 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • thesilverofhisfining says:

      Luke 8:15 is a great verse, Karen! Jesus repeated that phrase “having heard the word of God, and keep it: in 6:47; 8:21; and 11:28. The word patience attached to bringing forth fruits indicates that it isn’t easy, does it not?

      Thanks for your encouraging words. God bless your day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen says:

    Hi Joyce, I got so excited this weekend because I was reading and found another verse that reinforced for me what we were talking about here – Numbers 15:37-41, specifically verse 39 that the children of Israel might “…remember all the commandments of the LORD, and do them…” Hope you have a great week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

