Twitter Friends {twitter tutorial #12}


{This Twitter Friends (twitter tutorial #12) post was written on April 7th of this year.  I still cannot keep up with my posting schedule, due to some changes in my life which I will tell you about soon.  Thank you for your patience.  I am sharing this now as it is still relevant, though I have done considerably more work on the Twitter end of things.}

Best friends

Best friends

Hello, friends!  I’ve been busy checking things out in the overall scope of things, rather than writing content to post.  Thank you for your patience.  My mother died almost a month ago.  I am slowly getting back in the scheme of things, better at some things than others.

Twitter Friends.  Today’s scheduled social media post never got written, the monthly Twitter tutorial.  I’ve been working on my about.me page today, which is linked to Twitter, so I thought I’d share it here.  The purpose of the social media platforms I use is to promote this blog and increase the community of readers.  At least to date, it is.

About.me is a great place to put all of one’s places together on one page.  Some platforms limit what other platforms you can show.  The profile page on about.me is more flexible than most.

Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 12.52.44 PM

If you’re worried about being too public, you can choose what information to share.  And your lists, which are called collections,  can be public or private, just like on Twitter.  You can share a photo of yourself, or not.  You can put your name in the profile rather than as your name.  Lots of flexibility.

Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 1.02.53 PM

Without any further words…  here is the link to my Twitter friends on my about.me.  And here is the link to my Twitter engagers on my about.me. which  allows these pages to be embedded, however WordPress.com doesn’t allow javascript, hence the links.

Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 12.55.45 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 1.00.34 PM

That’s it for about.me.

Yesterday I worked on my Twitter Direct Tweet Campaign, which has been on hold for too long.  I finished up the shoutouts for the first 1,000 followers, and started on the next group of 700 so far.  These have not been put into categories, and won’t until the group is narrowed down.  I regret following so many so quickly, for the difficulty in getting to know them.

Ultimately I am working on the next List of All Lists.  The last one was Published Authors.  Who will be next?  (good question)

It is a blessing to be so full of ideas that one never gets bored, but the bane is in the working through them all!  Not to worry, God gave me tenacity along with the abundance of ideas 🙂  It is gratifying to see things through to their intended end.

Speaking of shoutouts … I finally learned how to use Hootsuite, and I love it!  At least I have learned how to schedule Tweets with Hootsuite.  You can schedule other platforms from it too.

I love being able to schedule things to say ahead of time, especially for those things that are timely.  So far I have found this new-to-me tool to be user friendly.  I have used TweetDeck in the past, but I’m really liking the ease of using Hootsuite.  And I love that so much is available in the free package.

That’s it for me.  How about you?

What new social media platforms have you tried?  

Which platforms are your favorites?

Do you like being able to link them together?  

Have you met people with like interests through them?  

What is your purpose in using social media platforms?

Click here for previous Twitter Tutorial posts.

Update:  The Twitter mutual followers list is narrowed down to 130 Tweeters, the shoutouts are finished, and the List of All Lists Part 4 has been posted.  The remaining Lists are waiting to be published.

4 thoughts on “Twitter Friends {twitter tutorial #12}

  1. Karen says:

    Joyce, this is the sweetest photo (titled “Best Friends”) so sweet ♥ Glad your social media projects are coming along 🙂

    Karen

    Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

