A Memory Between Us {book review}


Here’s another of Christian historical fiction writer Sarah Sundin’s books.  A Memory Between Us is the second in the Wings of Glory series.  It is set in Europe (mostly) during World War 2.

DSCN8545

My book reviews of this author’s second series, Wings of the Nightingale, can be found here, here (scroll down to find it), and here.  Wings of the Nightingale is another series with a World War 2 theatre setting involving pilots, pharmacy techs, and flight nurses.  They are all wonderful.  I highly recommend Sarah’s books.

I had no idea in 2014 when God convicted me about reading less than squeaky clean fiction, what wonderful Christian writers He would introduce me to.  Sarah Sundin is one of the finest.  She is also personable on social media.  It is wonderful to interact with an author while reading their book!  You may meet her on Twitter or Facebook or Pinterest or her website.

On to the book review.  My Goodreads review of A Memory Between Us by Sarah Sundin follows.  Enjoy!

A Memory Between Us (Wings of Glory, #2)A Memory Between Us by Sarah Sundin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a public library copy. Wings of Glory, #1 is not available. This author’s books are stand-alone although the books in the series are related.

This book is fabulous! It did take me a bit to get into it, but once I did I was hooked. There’s not much to say except to encourage you to read the book. I highly recommend it, and all of Sarah’s books. Of course, you may not like them as well if you’re not a fan of World War 2 history … but I think anyone would like this book, for the story and the characters alone.

As with all of Sarah’s books there is a couple, or two, with a budding relationship. I’ll give no spoilers, but the cover is perfect for the book :).  Major Jack Novak is a pilot, Lieutenant Ruth Doherty a nurse. The story is complicated, working through from both points of view beautifully. The war action is interwoven beautifully.

The faith element is strong but not preachy. I love the way the author puts the reader in the characters’ heads, and how the truths of the story work in the reader’s heart right alongside, in this case, Jack Novak. Thank you, Sarah, for introducing us to Jack! He has encouraged me in my walk with God.

Look forward to reading the rest of this series, and get to know Jack’s brothers a bit better.

View all my reviews

One thought on “A Memory Between Us {book review}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

