Vessels for the Master’s Use {80/300}


Aaaaaahhh!

LaJolla, CA

April 21

Daily Proverb:

 He that speaketh truth showeth forth righteousness,

but a false witness, deceit.

Proverbs 12:17

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Daily Bible Reading:

Exodus 27

Psalm 46

1 & 2 Corinthians

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Inspiring Hymns #80

Like a Mighty Sea

My soul today is thirsting for living streams divine, to sweep from highest heaven to this poor heart of mine;  I stand upon the promise, in Jesus’ name I plead;  O send the gracious current to satisfy my need.

I see the clouds arising, the mercy clouds of love, that come to bring refreshing down from the throne above,  The earnest of the shower, just now to us is giv’n, and now we wait, expecting the floods of grace from heav’n.

The show’rs of grace are falling, the tide is rolling in, the flood-tide  of salvation, with pow’r to cleanse from sin;  It’s surging thro’ my being and takes my sin away,  it keeps me shouting glory!  thro’ all the happy day.

It’s coming, yes, it’s coming, it’s coming down this hour, A torrent of salvation in saving, cleansing pow’r:  I hear the billows surging, I see them mount and roll;  O glory, hallelujah! they’re sweeping thro’ my soul.

Chorus:  Like a mighty sea, like a mighty sea, comes the love of Jesus, sweeping over me;  The waves of glory roll, the shouts I can’t control, comes the love of Jesus, sweeping o’er my soul.

Words:  A.I. Zelley

Music:  H.L. Gilmour

Copyright 1951

Singspiration, Inc.

5 thoughts on “Vessels for the Master’s Use {80/300}

  1. Karen says:

    Hi Joyce, I got to thinking that your daily reading of 1 & 2 Corinthians must really help in Scripture memorization – reviewing, reinforcing. Seems if ‘you don’t use it, you lose it’ lol – do you find that? Do you review a lot?

    Like

    • thesilverofhisfining says:

      Hi Karen, I do review a lot, because when I don’t I do lose it 🙂 In 2014 I worked on 1 John, which I had learned a few years back and ‘lost’, alongside the new verses in 2Cor. I didn’t get all the way through 1 John yet. Not doing it this year. But I rotate between the previous years’ memory work while working on the new one. This week I am reviewing 1 John 🙂 It does help to read the same book in my Bible reading, especially with getting the meaning of the whole passage. I like to read it aloud. I don’t learn by hearing, but sometimes I understand more that way, and variety is always good. Have you tried Art Journaling your verses? Someone suggested that to me recently. I have not but it sounds like a great idea.

      Like

      • Karen says:

        I haven’t tried Art Journaling. It looks like Scripture Typer offers an option like that in their phone app, but I don’t have a cell phone. But I am sure one could do it just as easily the old-fashioned way 🙂 and probably more fun!

        Thank you for sharing your experiences 🙂 Some verses seem to stick with me better than others. Others, wow to keep them I will have to review often. Maybe I could try Art Journaling those. I don’t learn by hearing either. But if one has a visual to associate it with, maybe that is easier. I heard that suggested as a way to remember people’s names once – to associate their name with something to make it easier to remember and visualize that thing when you see them. So for example, visualize “Donald Duck” for someone named “Don”. Maybe this might work in a similar way.

        Like

      • thesilverofhisfining says:

        I don’t have a smart phone either. Typing really helps me memorize. Sometimes I use acronyms to help. For example 2Cor.6:4-5 a-n-d-s ‘affliction, necessities, distresses, stripes’. I’m more apt to search around on the keyboard for a first letter than to remember difficult sections 🙂 Lots of verses start with ‘w’, ‘t’, ‘a’, (wherefore, therefore, and) ‘f’, ‘b’ and ‘n’ (for, but, now). I like to review passages I learned as a child since they come to mind more easily.

        Thanks for your encouragement, and making me think, Karen 🙂 Memorizing isn’t easy, but the rewards are great!

        Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

