Playing by Heart {book review}


Anne Mateer is one of my favorite authors.  She is on Twitter, and she talks!  And she writes God-honouring historical romance stories where the characters seek to live out a personal relationship with God and encourage others to do so by their example.  Playing by Heart is Anne’s fourth book.

DSCN8164
My Goodreads book review is below:

Playing by HeartPlaying by Heart by Anne Mateer

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Public library copy. So excited to read this! Anne Mateer is one of my favorite authors.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading Playing by Heart. What an inspiring story. I gave it four stars because it lacks the depth which I have come to love in a book. Depth of character and layers which give the story staying power. Layers in description of scene, character, and theme.

I had to remind myself once in awhile what period of time this was written in. Some period details were clear, while others were not, or I was not familiar with them. I love that this story is based on the author’s grandmothers’ stories.

Dual point of view, perfect. The outcome was not obvious, with one twist of character which surprises near the end. Lots of basketball detail, if you’re a fan. Play-by-play. The story moves right along, compelling reading.

My favorite part of this book is the living of Chet’s faith in day-to-day living. His mentoring relationships were fantastic. Some of the emotional moments in his life, where he chose to do the right thing instead of what would be easiest, and taught others to do the same, were priceless.

There were two scenes where I thought Chet’s reactions were out of character, but we all act ‘out of character’ at times I suppose. All of the characters in this book were well presented. I liked Chet the best.

And I love what Anne says in her Note From the Author: “Finally, as always, the glory goes to God and God alone. Without Him, I have nothing good in me to pour onto a page. I am so grateful…humbled…amazed.”

Thank you, Anne. To God be the glory, great things He hath done!

View all my reviews

One thought on “Playing by Heart {book review}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

