When the Soul Mends {book review}


When the Soul Mends is book three in the Sisters of the Quilt series (of three) by Cindy Woodsmall.  You may also wish to read my review of books one, When the Heart Cries, and two, When the Morning Comes.

DSCN8133

My Goodreads review of When the Soul Mends is below.
When the Soul MendsWhen the Soul Mends by Cindy Woodsmall

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Public library copy. Anxious to see how this story ends. These three books are really one long story published in three volumes. I am particularly enjoying the interplay, if I may use that term loosely, between the Englischers, the Old Order Amish, and the Mennonite communities.

My hesitations over the first book are completely laid to rest by midway through the third book. The author has taken a powerful lot of characters and developed enough of them just enough to pack a powerful lot of growth between the covers of these books.

Having Hannah bring the five-year old Lisa with her into the Amish community was brilliant. Every excellent book needs a child’s point of view, in all its innocency and transparency. Still have more to read….

I gave this book 4 stars because I did enjoy reading it. I was hooked until the end. However, there are a few observations to share.

First, I really loved the way the author brought the Old Order Amish, the Plain Mennonite, and the Englishcher communities together in the book. Realistic or not, it gave me tremendous hope.

There are many things in this trilogy which are not realistic, yet they make for good reading. The writing is so wholesome, it gives one hope that integrity and faith can and do win over the flesh.

I prefer books that do not blatantly state the theme. If a book is well-written, and I believe this was, the reader will get it without being told. Forgiveness was obviously what this author wanted to get across. But for me there were other issues equally as important, which were overshadowed by overstating the obvious. Not a big deal, I just skim over those parts where the author tells instead of showing.

I love how Matthew’s life turned … no spoilers. It is not realistic, yet is is possible, that young men raised in such homes as Matthew, Luke, Martin, and Paul were, should turn out so well-rounded. Realistic or not, I love each of their characters. They are great role models, don’t you think?

This author did a phenomenal job of showing us this many characters in as much depth as she did. I’m glad I read this series and am highly recommending it to all interested in the Amish community.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “When the Soul Mends {book review}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

