Every Secret Thing {book review}


Ann Tatlock is one of my favorite Christian fiction authors.  I have been reading her books for several years.  Every Secret Thing is the first of Ann’s books to receive a five-star rating.  I absolutely loved the book!  Here is my GoodReads book review.

Ann Tatlock's Every Secret Thing

Ann Tatlock’s Every Secret Thing

Every Secret ThingEvery Secret Thing by Ann Tatlock

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Public library copy.

The Prologue is wonderful! I love this book from the Prologue straight through to the Epilogue! The story, the point of view, the characters, the setting, the plot, the layers, the theme — all excellent. I have nothing to say… nothing about the writing.

I will tell you how the book affected me. The Prologue drew me in. It is fabulous. The book is in first person, and sounds like the author is talking to the reader. After I read the Prologue I tweeted Ann about loving the book. She replied, “I’m so glad! The setting of that book is the school I attended in the 70s and much of it is true. Many fond memories.”

With that in mind the story jumped off the pages to me. She uses several memorable characters to portray truths, to explore emotions, and to develop relationships which are stronger than blood. There is as much depth to the book as the reader is willing to explore. It makes the reader examine his own self … trying not to be technical or spoil the story.

I just loved every bit of it. Clearly a five-star favorite. Thanks, Ann!

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Every Secret Thing {book review}

  1. Roanne L. King says:

    I will be adding this to my to- read shelf! I’m interested to see how the author took her real life experience and turned it into a fictional story. I would have liked a few more details regarding plot and characters. Where can I go to find out more?

    Like

    • thesilverofhisfining says:

      Click on the book title in the GoodReads review. My reviews are limited to my opinion, as the synopsis is already there in GoodReads. Some day perhaps I’ll put it all together 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting, Roanne. Hope you enjoy the book. ~Joyce

      Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

