2015 Heart Hiding {overview}


In case you are new here, or you just don’t know what the Heart Hiding series is, here is a brief overview.  You can read more about Heart Hiding here.

Heart Hiding {Scripture Memorization} is a year long series posted weekly on Sunday.  The idea of memorizing whole books of the Bible by learning two verses per week is not original with me. It is a brilliant plan, which works.

I recommend using Scripture Typer to memorize.  I use it on my laptop for free.  There is also a phone app available.  If you are new to Scripture Typer I suggest you practice using it with verses you already know, before starting to memorize.

print out the verses which are put in a pocket calendar (or moleskin, as Ann Voskamp uses).  That is my backup plan, in case of loss of internet or laptop use.  It is what I used before finding Scripture Typer.  Note:  it can be an old calendar from a previous year.

DSCN7936 DSCN7937

This is my fifth year memorizing two verses per week to complete whole books.  I started with Colossians the first year.  Year two was 1 John, Year three was Philippians, and last year was 2 Corinthians 1-5.

This year continues where last year left off, 2 Corinthians 6-10.  It runs for 47 weeks, ending on Dec. 19th, with two weeks of review to follow.

Here is the pdf for printing the verses for 2015.  If you prefer a different version of the Bible you can prepare them yourself using an online Bible.

KJV2Cor.6-10

The purpose for posting the verses each week is to encourage myself and others to  memorize God’s Word on a consistent basis.  You don’t have to be memorizing a book, or the same book, to contribute by giving encouragement in the form of suggestions or questions.

Memorizing Scripture can be a lonely venture, and discouraging.  The more sense of accountability and community one has, the more encouragement he receives.  I do get behind the schedule, but I catch up and finish before the next year.

This year I am beginning the week of January 25-31.  I generally start the new verses on Monday, as the weekend is a good time to catch up if needed.

Review is key to memorizing.  In 2014 I was able to put 1 John into Scripture Typer, and work on it along with 2 Corinthians 1-5.  I had difficulty recalling 1 John 4, so worked on it two – three verses at a time until I relearned it.

Currently I am reviewing Philippians, 1 John, 2 Cor.1-5, and a few odd chapters in Scripture Typer.  Some day I hope to put Colossians in there as well and review it.

I hope this encourages you to hide God’s Word in your heart.

2015 Heart Hiding {Scripture Memorization}

6 thoughts on “2015 Heart Hiding {overview}

  1. marianbeaman says:

    Your deep spiritual commitment is evident in your blog from the title on through. Like you, I try to “chew” on scripture during the day. I like the organization you bring to your study. When my sister was sick I found small blue plastic box and filled it with snippets – special scripture verses of encouragement. I find it helpful to post verses, some framed, some unframed around the house. I look at Jeremiah 29:11 every day on my kitchen window sill and am encouraged by its message, a good one for 2015.

    The Shaping of a Life: A spiritual landscape by Phyllis Tickle was one book, a memoir, I read in 2014 that made an impact on my thinking spiritually. Warning: It is very deep and I sometimes skipped pages to get to the better parts – ha!

    Again, thanks for following, Joyce.

    Like

      • marianbeaman says:

        I know many verses of scripture and review them daily in my heart and mind. I know I need to challenge myself to learn new ones though. Scripture is like food to be chewed and digested into thoughts and actions in my daily life. Easier said than done though!

        Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

