These High, Green Hills {book review}


Squeezing this last book review in for the year. Running into a time crunch, can you relate? I hope you will have extra time for enjoying a good read during the holidays. I hope to. Maybe another of these wonderful Mitford books by Jan Karon. My review of These High, Green Hills follows, which is also on Goodreads.
 
DSCN6752
 

These High, Green HillsThese High, Green Hills by Jan Karon

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Library copy. Third in the Mitford series.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading These High, Green Hills. I love where the title comes into the story, just once I believe, near the end, although it is no secret. It is amazing that the reader can come to know so many varied characters so well in the course of reading this author’s books. I love the consistent viewpoint of Father Tim. And I love not having to read first person in order to have it so.

One might assume that this is light reading. It is not. There is depth to it, as much as the reader will receive. This book is loaded with relationships of the true kind. It deals with death, homelessness, domestic abuse, physical trauma, retirement, and love, among other things. Summarizing it does not do it justice. You just have to read it.

The cave experience was paramount, as was the funeral (preparation). Those moments in a book when the pov character changes, when the reader can understand how to effect this by being in the pov’s shoes, are priceless. This book has any number of those moments.

I love the way a new character was brought into the story as one main character passed into the presence of her Lord and Saviour. I love the relationships with people, and especially those with Jesus Christ.

This book is a gold field waiting to be mined by the reader. I highly recommend it to all, especially those interested in what really matters in life. Come to Mitford and meet Timothy, Cynthia, Dooley, Sissy and Sassy, Buck Leeper, Barnabus, Uncle Billy Watson, and a host of other small town folk. It will do your heart good.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “These High, Green Hills {book review}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

