A Light in the Window {book review}


Since my review of the first book in Jan Karon’s Mitford Series, At Home in Mitford, many of you have told me this is your favorite series.  After reading book two, A Light in the Window, I think I may be joining your ranks!  Here is my book review posted on Goodreads.

DSCN6744
A Light in the Window (Mitford Series, #2)A Light in the Window by Jan Karon
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Library copy. Have looked forward to reading this since finishing At Home in Mitford.

Do you find yourself smiling when you read this series? I do. Now that’s a good read 🙂

This second in the Mitford series by Jan Karon did not disappoint. Ready to jump into book three! There’s really nothing to say about the book, other than I highly recommend that you read it, if you haven’t already. Even if you have, as a number of people have told me, it’s time to read them again.

Small town life, real life problems and personalities, real faith in a personal God, real colorful characters, old, young, in-between, sane and not-so-sane, a marvelous dog named Barnabus, and a published cat named Violet, not-so-marvelous. Plenty of action, plenty of conversation, plenty of aha moments. I especially enjoyed the description and history of Miss Sadie’s ballroom ceiling.

This book is packed with good stuff about Father Tim and the ways he cares for people. His opinion of himself is in great contrast to what he does. That is a good part of what makes this a great book. That woven together with many other threads.

I did wonder about the mention of Percy and Velma’s youngest grandchild waving a fly swatter over the orange marmalade cake (p.368), since they had a new grand baby a month or so previous 🙂

What are your favorite moments in Mitford?

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “A Light in the Window {book review}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

