Remembering Beulah {family history}


One hundred years ago, on December 5, 1914, my mother’s oldest sister, Florence Beulah Dennison was born in Digby, Nova Scotia. She emigrated to Boston with her family in July 1923.

Beulah, as she was called by most, became Auntie B to the nieces and grand-nieces and -nephews. Auntie B never married nor had children of her own.

She loved children and they loved her. She taught Sunday School for many years and was the church secretary after retiring from the New England Telephone Company as an operator.

Auntie B went to be with her Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ in 2009, at age 94. I miss her very much, and look forward to seeing her again in Heaven. I’m so glad God gave her to us.

Beulah in Digby

Beulah in Digby

Harry with Ruth and Beulah

Harry with Ruth and Beulah

Ruth and Beulah with kittens

Ruth and Beulah with kittens

Marion and Beulah with Richard

Marion and Beulah with Richard

A silly moment during a family photo shoot (Beulah, Ruth, Ann Marie, and Marion-my mother)

A silly moment during a family photo shoot (Beulah, Ruth, Ann Marie, and Marion-my mother)

Marion and Beulah

Marion and Beulah

5 thoughts on “Remembering Beulah {family history}

  1. Cindy says:

    I love the silly moment photo; I remember her making funny faces so often. She was such a treasure to our family. My late father-in-law shared the same birthday, just two years earlier.

    Like

  2. Beverly Hirsch says:

    I loved looking at your pictures. They remind me of the women in my family … way back when. My great-grandmother Amelia Ann Powell moved from Digby to Boston, to marry George Prescott there, and never returned to Digby. I often wish I could have known her and that I could visit Digby some time before I’m gone. I doubt that’ll happen, the trip to Digby. But I can dream. Thank you for your wonderful pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thesilverofhisfining says:

      Beverly, thank you so much for your comment! I’m sorry it took so long to get to. Big technical issues this week — praise God, all resolved.

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the virtual visit to Digby. I’m not sure I’ll ever get there either. I have cousins there, but they don’t seem interested in the American cousins sadly.

      You’re quite welcome! There were many Boston area immigrants from Digby, who came for work. Of course their forebears had left New England as Loyalists to go to Digby in the first place (I say shamefacedly, as a patriotic American). I’m glad they came back, although I wouldn’t mind being Canadian either.

      Have a great week, Beverly. Come by any time! Joyce

      Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

