Daisies are Forever {book review}


Daisies are Forever is the second book published by Liz Tolsma.  You may also read my book review of her first book, Snow on the Tulips.  Both books are set in European countries during the Second World War.

DSCN6742

Here is my book review of Daisies are Forever in Goodreads.

Daisies Are ForeverDaisies Are Forever by Liz Tolsma
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Library copy. This is the second book I’ve read by this author, who is American. Both books have been WW2 historical novels, set in Europe, both based on true events related to her by family members and others.

Because of the wealth of history incorporated in both books, I have a great respect for the work that went into writing them.

In as far as the historical end of things, this book is fabulous. It is beyond my understanding how one takes such gruesome history, weaves it into a fictional story, with plausible colorful flawed characters, and come out with something readable. The reader lives in WW2 Germany as a civilian survivor.

However. There were a few things that I did not like. Again, as in the first book, the author has multiple references to the title, which I find redundant. The green daisy scarf was fabulous, as was the daisy in her Bible, but too many mentions diminish rather than embellish.

Characters. Ouch. While they were all plausible, none of them grew on me. Some of them grew on each other, and some grew up, but they did not endear themselves to me. Not one. Something missing there. The author’s first book was like that too. I can understand the stiffness in the Europeans, but not the Brit and the American.

The faith element was good, clear and plain and true. Overall this is a good read for one who wants the history. It is tactfully written, not offensive at all, in spite of the horrid circumstances. It is definitely not a cozy read.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Daisies are Forever {book review}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

