At Home in Mitford {book review}


This may be my first Jan Karon read.  I remember my mother read her books and enjoyed them.  I wasn’t sure what to expect, and I was skeptical.  Here’s my book review of At Home in Mitford by Jan Karon, which is also posted on Goodreads.

DSCN6726

 

At Home in Mitford (The Mitford Years, #1)At Home in Mitford by Jan Karon

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This copy is currently in my possession from a free library.

What a delightful story! My mother used to read (and loved) anything by Jan Karon. Not sure I’ve read this one, am sure enjoying it.

This book was a pleasant surprise. There are lots of characters, but the characterizations are so clear that it was hard to forget any of them. I love the point of view, which is the narrator’s view of Father Tim.

This is not a warm fuzzy story, although Mitford appears to be the perfect town. There are many ordinary and extraordinary difficulties with which the reader can identify. It is not a predictable story.

Already checked the next two books in the Mitford series out of the library. Great book — great author. Highly recommended. Squeaky clean and very much faith-based, but not in the way I expected. I love the personal relationship with God angle for an Episcopalian priest. That surprised me. Enjoy!

View all my reviews

DSCN6753

6 thoughts on “At Home in Mitford {book review}

  1. Being Woven says:

    Oh, this series is so great. My husband and I have read the whole series in the evenings or as we travel outloud to one another. Just last week, we finished Jan’s latest one: “Somewhere Safe With Somebody Good.” They just keep getting better and better!!

    Like

  2. Wendy Macdonald says:

    I’ve just started reading one of her books too. It’s the sixth book in the Mitford series (I picked it up at a used bookstore) and I love Jan’s style of writing. Her sense of humor is engaging.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

