A Clearing in the Wild {book review}


A Clearing in the Wild is the first in the Change and Cherish Historical Series by Jane Kirkpatrick.  The series is based on a true story of the Bethel-ites originating in Missouri in the 1850s, who sought to live apart from the world and its lures.

Jane Kirkpatrick is a master at weaving historical facts and characters with fiction, while maintaining a strong foundation of faith.  This book upholds her reputation.  The book review below is also posted on Goodreads.

DSCN6719

A Clearing in the Wild (Change and Cherish Historical #1)A Clearing in the Wild by Jane Kirkpatrick

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Library copy. I am loving this book. Love this style of writing. ~~ Forty pages to go … oh my, what hardship this west coast pioneering compared to NH a century earlier!

This book is the first in a series, which I am rather anxious to read. While the book stands alone, the story isn’t finished, and leaves the reader hoping beyond hope that things turn brighter in the next two books, as they begin to at the end of this one.

It is beyond me to critique a writer such as Jane Kirkpatrick. Her writing is as writing should be. It is not entertainment. It is thick. Thick enough to sink one’s teeth into or to sink down into as in a feather comforter. Characters (good and bad), plot, language, description of the environment, matters of the heart, matters of faith, they are all there.

When I stop to read a phrase or sentence aloud, just for the pure sound of the words; when I want to wring the neck of one of the characters even though they are fictitious; when I feel as though I am there; that is a five star rating.

On top of all of this, the book is historical. The Bethelites were a real group of people, and much of the story is gleaned from historical records. The author who combines historical fact and fiction seamlessly is tops on my list.

Thank you, Jane, for a superb book! I highly recommend this book, although for some it would appear dry. This is not a contemporary inspirational romance. It is a work of substance. I love it.

View all my reviews

A Clearing in the Wild by Jane Kirkpatrick.  {book review}

6 thoughts on “A Clearing in the Wild {book review}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

