Small Town Girl {book review}


One of my new favorite authors (new to me) is Ann H. Gabhart.  If you like clean Americana Christian fiction, I recommend her books to you.  If you like accessible authors, Ann is on Twitter, and she does talk.  She is also on Goodreads.

DSCN6714

Small Town Girl is the second in the Rosey Corner series.  Here is my book review in Goodreads.

 

Small Town GirlSmall Town Girl by Ann H. Gabhart

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Library copy. This is the second in the Rosey Corner series. I read this one first.

I love It! I love the characters, the story, the point of view. As the title suggests, it takes place in a small town. That is one reason I like it. And I love that it is based on the author’s mother’s small town experiences. It is historical, at the beginning of the second World War.

There are lots of characters, and they are characters, which weave the story together. This is a stand alone book, which makes you want to read the others just to spend more time with the characters. I changed midway through the book which character I identified most closely with. See what you think when you read it.

It’s a story full of faith and hope in the midst of difficulties and misunderstandings and human error. I love the contrast shown in the lives of different ones who profess to know God, and the thought process of the one seeking Him.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Small Town Girl {book review}

  1. Ann H Gabhart says:

    Hi, Thistle. Thanks for reading my book and even more, for liking my characters. You’ve made me curious on which character you switched allegiance to in the story. But whichever, I’m glad you walked their story trail with them. I looked for your name, but couldn’t find it so went with your Twitter persona. I don’t do as much on Twitter as I do my Facebook page. Only so many hours in a day and I need to spend some of them writing. 🙂 Thanks again for the review.

    Ann

    Like

    • thesilverofhisfining says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by, Ann. My name is Joyce. It is only in the comments for now. I identified more with Kate in the first part of the book, but there was a turning point in Jay’s character when I switched to him. I’m looking forward to reading the other two books in the series (I started in the middle).

      Yes, social media eats up valuable time :-). I am a former Facebook user, currently enjoying Twitter, which works nicely with blog posts and Pinterest. It is my pleasure to review your wonderful books, Ann. Keep on writing!

      Joyce

      Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

