Village Diary {book review}


Village Diary, book review, Miss Read

Determined to embellish my book reviews. Thank you for your patience. The following is my book review of Village Diary by Miss Read on my Goodreads site.

Village Diary (Chronicles of Fairacre, #2) Village Diary by Miss Read My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Library copy, and a re-read. Felt like I’d been there before, but always enjoy her writing.

This quote from page 152 sums it up well:

“Sitting alone, in that classroom, with only the tick of the wall-clock and the faint shouts of my approaching pupils to be heard, I felt, perhaps more keenly than ever before, just what it means to be a villager– someone whose welfare is of interest (sometimes of unwelcome interest) to one’s neighbors — but always to matter(italics). It was a warming thought — to be part of a small living community, ‘members one of another’, so closely linked by ties of kinship, work, and the parish boundaries, that the supposed happiness of one elderly woman affected all.”

This book was published in 1957, half a century before the world of the internet and social media. There is something comforting in the reading of it, which one does not find in technology or wireless communication. I highly recommend this book, and all of Miss Read’s books, of which there are many. View all my reviews

That’s the end of the Goodreads review. I very much enjoy being able to record the books which I have read, and my reviews, on Goodreads.  Recently my friends list has nearly doubled, as I am finding many Twitter followers are also on Goodreads.  It makes a nice way to connect with authors and readers.

Today I was pleasantly surprised with an email from Goodreads telling me that I won a First Reads copy of God Took Me by the Hand: A Story of God’s Unusual Providence, by Jerry Bridges.  I am so excited!  I love this author’s books.  This was my first request for a First Reads book.  I’m very thankful to be one of the ‘winners’.

DSCN6413

 

What ways have you found to connect with other readers?

Do you review the books you read?

When you finish a book do you start the next one right away, or do you like to savor it a bit?

DSCN6414

5 thoughts on “Village Diary {book review}

  1. Wendy Macdonald says:

    I like to have another book on hand for when I finish one so that I can avoid the sadness of saying goodbye to characters I’ve grown attached to. Sometimes I will even read a couple of chapters ahead to make the transition easier.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

