The Literary Detective Agency {mental work}


Call this what you will, this is seriously where my mind drifted today. It is in the work category because this originated while I was working (my day job).  Rather than physical work, as my day job, this is mental work which can be done while working a mindless day job.  Ultimately it belongs in the category of creative writing.

The Literary Detective Agency is the title which came first to mind.  Searching the terms in DuckDuckGo brought up this team of Literary Detectives, who research women authors for documentary purposes. {Since they are sharing their work on social media platforms, they may be a good source of info.}  Paul Collins, an author specializing in history, memoir, and antiquarian literature, is known as The Literary Detective.  Nothing came up with The Literary Detective Agency.  whew!

Since reading multiple authors’ blogs and tweets, and those of would-be authors, all of whom share their style of writing and the greatest tips known to man, I have been thinking outside my usual box. Here’s what I thought…

Why not let this overactive imagination of mine run the gamut?

Not in an uncontrolled way, but in a purely imaginative realm.

Since I enjoy managing things, why not create an imaginary corporation to manage?

Why not make the whole process into a story?

Why not combine my wishful thinking in the world of work with my writing?

Why not?

the literary detective agency

I love libraries. I loved working in one. The detective agency just buzzed into my mind at the moment, and I’m sticking with it. I do love a good mystery. Reminds me of a BBC detective series.  Not Helen Mirren. (I liked that show too.) This was a private detective.  DuckDuckGo found it: The character’s name is Cordelia Gray, as created by P.D. James in An Unsuitable Job For A Woman.

Okay.  So on to the set, in my mind’s eye.  The library.  Not academic or public.  A private  library, of the sort which many of us would ‘die’ for, should we suddenly have our dream house. The library in The Secret Garden or the manor home in one of Jane Austen’s books.  With floor to ceiling shelves, circular, with couches in the center and an enormous desk.  Something on that sort, likely with multiple ‘galleries’ of reading ‘rooms’.  No floor plan yet.

The Literary Detective Agency {mental work}, creative writing

The agency would need a CEO, a board of directors, and a staff to manage the collection, preferably one professional librarian.  And a staff to maintain the building and grounds, and provide meals and housing.

Detectives, or one at least, with helpers for the legwork {like Perry Mason}.  What kind of detecting they would do remains to be seen.  All run by a large corporation {or philanthropist}, generating a large income, with a large clientele, and a great need for their services.  Perhaps it could be multi-national, global in nature.  Libraries tend to be, or do they?

There’s so much to think about.  So many questions to answer.  So much excitement in fleshing this idea out.

So tell me, authors, is this the beginning of a story?  

When you begin with a new idea, are you full of ideas and questions?  

Do they present themselves in your imagination as a place to which you must travel to find the answers?

 
How do you know when you have an idea worth writing about?

I’d love to hear some discussion on the subject of creative imagination turning into a story, your word of wisdom (or two or three) in this area, or thoughts on libraries and detective agencies.  Happy writing day!

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

