He’s Alive! {Resurrection of Jesus Christ, Son of God}


Easter, or more accurately Resurrection Sunday, is the day Christians celebrate the indisputable fact that He’s Alive!  This meaning the bodily Resurrection of Jesus Christ, the Son of God, in victory over sin, death, and the devil.

When I accept Christ’s voluntary substitutionary sacrifice on the Cross, trusting in Christ alone, I am spiritually made alive and look forward to a bodily ‘resurrection’.  I will receive a new body which will never die, and look forward to spending eternity in Christ’s and the Father’s Presence.

What is more worth celebrating?  He’s Alive! 

For they loved the praise of men more than the praise of God. Jesus cried out, and said, He that believeth on me, believeth not on me, but on him that sent me.  

And he that seeth me seeth him that sent me.  

I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness.  

And if any man hear my words, and believe not, I judge him not; for I came, not to judge the world but to save the world.

 He that rejecteth me, and receiveth not my words, hath one that judgeth him:  the word that I have spoken, the same shall judge him in the last day.  

For I have not spoken of myself:  but the Father, who sent me, he gave me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak.  

And I know that his commandment is life everlasting; whatsoever I speak, therefore, even as the Father said unto me, so I speak.

John 12:43-50

Two things to say, and then the music.

One, since my nest emptied, holidays tend to be spent alone and not paid as much attention.  For that reason you may be reading this after the fact.  Easter in particular, and Christmas, are contemplated for their original meaning and much less ‘lost’ in the busyness of family celebration(s).  And it tends to not be a particularly joyous occasion.

Therefore, the music (which I found here , thank you, Lori) serves to point me to the deeper meaning, to put me there, at the place of the Resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Two, about the music.  {not a critique but a baring of my thoughts to you}

Three versions of the same song, He’s Alive! by Don Francisco.

The song was published 34 years ago.  Just before I became a mother for the first time.

I am not a fan of contemporary Christian music.  The first video is more contemporary than I like.  But I like the message of the song.  The video pictures depicting the story are tastefully done.

In looking for another version of the same song I found a performance by Don and his wife with a huge choir and band joining them for the chorus.  Quite effective, but still contemporary.

The third is a Gaither recording in which Don sings alone without accompaniment, just his guitar.  This one I listen to with eyes closed until he gets to the chorus.  When he sings the chorus I am inclined to think being charismatic is a good thing 🙂

How can we not praise Him with all that we have,

when He has given all that He has for us?

Perhaps we worship Him best when we are alone and free to give Him our all.

Choose one or listen to them all.  Enjoy.

#1 Slideshow of He’s Alive, by R.S. Corbin.

 

#2 Live performance by Don and his wife. At the beginning he talks about the process of writing the song. How much better than to hear from the writer himself?!!

 

#3 Music video by Bill & Gloria Gaither performing He’s Alive (feat. Don Francisco) [Live]. (P) (C) 2012 Spring House Music Group. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction is a violation of applicable laws. Manufactured by EMI Christian Music Group,

He’s Alive! {Resurrection of Jesus Christ, Son of God}

How are you celebrating this Resurrection Sunday?

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

