10 Steps to Becoming a Better Writer {write}


10 Steps to Becoming a Better Writer
Like this infographic? Get more content marketing tips from Copyblogger.

Basically I posted this graphic because the original post encouraged readers to repost it. It’s easy to do things like that. Things that other people set up for me. Things that do not require thought or figuring out or a bunch of trial and error before finding out it won’t work. Things that basically someone else has already done the work for me so I don’t have to do much. You get the picture.

But the message is here for me. And if it applies to you, it is for you as well. It is something I need to read every day. I need to paste it in front of my eyeballs. I need to write.

I am not being lazy. I am busy. But I am not writing. And I know that I need to.

This morning my first conscious thoughts were on writing. Ideas on the heels of other ideas, none of which was written down. There was way too much for me to get it down on paper, even if I’d wanted to.

The fact that my sub-conscious was thinking about writing, having new ideas about how to go about writing, is encouraging. It is confidence-building. I remember thinking that at last there is so much going on in there that it is boiling over, impossible to contain.
I remember thinking that I would write, “I am not a writer. No one ever told me I am good at writing. I am an idea person, a creative. My mind overflows with creativity. Therefore I will write about that.” Something like that.

Truth be told, I am not a writer because I do not write, not any other reason. I don’t need to be told I am good at it. I need to do it. How will anyone know if I’m any good at it, or if I have anything worthwhile to say, unless I write?

Lest you think I am meandering here pointlessly, I am not. Here is my point. If  when you feel like you have nothing to say, and maybe even when you do, you should surround yourself with other writers.  Look at them.  Listen to them.  Read what they have to say.  Get ideas from them.  Fill yourself with the idea of writing, even if those ideas are not your own. Eventually it will fill you up on the inside, and begin to spill out on the outside, and you will write.

It doesn’t matter if you know what to write.  It doesn’t matter if you don’t have a plan.  What matters is that you write.  Period.

A hearty thank you to all of you, readers and writers, published and non-published, whose work inspires me daily.  Just the fact that you showed up encourages and inspires someone else.  Thank you for showing up.

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

