Improving Your Serve {work plan #603}


Okay.

{work plan #603}

an update of this recent post, Reflect {the heart & the hiding}

Are you a procrastinator?

Have you ever played a game of tennis, pingpong, or volleyball?

Do you like to be the server?

What happens if you procrastinate when you’re the server?

How do you go about Improving Your Serve?

Improving Your Serve, {work blog #603}

Mitchell Airport, Milwaukee

My father and I played pingpong in our basement when I was a teenager. Other than ice skating and tobogganing, and the occasional hike, it’s the only athletic activity we participated in together. My father didn’t play sports in school because he was sick much of the time. I don’t know where he learned to play pingpong, but he was pretty good at it. And he taught me what he knew. I was pretty good (meaning I could keep up with my father) at pingpong. Not so good with a tennis racket. And even worse with a volleyball. Particularly because it was not one on one. Anxiety levels run high for me on the volleyball court. Too much rides on my performance.

Our topic today is blogging, not athletics. Yet in a way, aren’t we bloggers serving the ball, so to speak? Some days we serve it into the net, some days we put sufficient spin on the ball that we land the ball in the reader’s court, and others we don’t connect with the ball or our teammates in any form or fashion. It’s not as simple as it looks to learn the ‘game’, to follow the ‘rules’, and gain experience (by dropping the ball, missing it completely, or whacking it out of bounds and landing on our nose in the dirt).

If you’re reading this and you are new to blogging, be encouraged. I’m here to tell you that this is not easy. It is work. It can be fun, but it is not easy. Especially if you like to work from a pattern but you want something original. Or if you don’t know what your niche is. Or you haven’t yet found your voice. It’s work.

It’s easy to come up with a plan. That is a natural for me. But to come up with one that is realistic, and implement it, and follow through in spite of any number of failed attempts until you end up with a workable result — that is hard work. Discouraging. That is why most bloggers start out with a bang and give up somewhere in the first six months. That is why there are so many dead blogs in cyberspace. Dropped balls on the court. Missing players.

So here’s my realistic, untried plan. The next step in my blogging journey. If you’re new here, I’ve been blogging in earnest for seven months, so I’m past the six month benchmark and I’m still in the game. Now for Improving My Serve.

Having proven to myself that it is possible to post seven days a week for more than a month at a time, and learning from others that this may not be in the best interest of you, the reader, the new schedule is as follows:

Post 3-4 times per week.

Continuing with six categories, plus one new one.

Post in 3 categories each week, alternating weeks.

Week 1 post M-W-F categories.

Week 2 post T-Th-S categories.

Post in the worship category weekly or every other week.

Here’s the game plan. Each category will continue with its day of the week as follows:

  • Su     – WORSHIP {spiritual: Bible, missions, worship}
  • Mo   – EXPRESS  {language arts:  reading, writing, speaking}
  • Tu    – CREATE  {creative arts:  music, photography, stitching}
  • We   – WORK (v.) {mental: accounts, cleaning, planning}
  • Th   – CHRONICLE  {history, culture, memoir}
  • Fr    – RUN  {physical: exercise, food, employment}
  • Sa   – ENTERTAINING STRANGERS  {social: blog, family, travel}

This last category is the one which had me by the neck yesterday. I was looking for a term to use which didn’t sound like a dating service (smile). Something which covered the social area of life, without entering into areas outside the purpose of this blog.

In looking up the word sociality, I came across the word hospitable, which I wouldn’t associate with the blogosphere, but why not?

God has something to say here.

This is not what comes naturally to me. 

Roget’s Thesaurus lists hospitable under liberality, which is to

spare no expense, give with both hands, carte blanche, free, generous, charitable,

hospitable, bountiful, ungrudging, with open hand.

The Greek word translated hospitality is Philoxenos , literally loving strangers. 

Romans 12:13 uses the word philoxenos when it lists hospitality as an expected part of the Christian’s life: Distributing to the necessity of saints; given to hospitality.

Hebrews 13:1-2 also uses philoxenos when it instructs the believer to Let brotherly love continue. Be not forgetful to entertain strangers; for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.

Thus it is fitting to use the concept of hospitality when preparing to serve one’s blog to strangers, is it not? This is, after all, the purpose of the domain of social media which goes hand-in-hand with blogging and writing and business these days.

Note:  There are a few other things to note in the transition from old categories to new.  Basically the old categories will be nested under the new ones, which should allow them to be found easily. The difference is that they may be on different days of the week, and with less (or more) frequency. The goal is for the server (me) to be more consistent in posting, so that the reader (you) will feel more at home here. Please let me know how I am doing. Your feedback is important  to me.

The posting schedule will be on the About page, as well as on each category page, once I get that all figured out. It hasn’t been done yet. Please let me know in a week or two if you have difficulty navigating. I need your feedback to know where the problems lie.

Thanks so much for reading my blog. I pray this will be a place where you feel at home.

What thoughts would you like to share on Improving Your Serve?

{work plan #603}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

