Keep up the memory of; remember: chronicle (v.)


Chronicle, memoir,

{This post was edited on 7.9.2014 to make it more readable.}

How do you preserve the special events in your family?

 In photo albums? Videos? Digital slideshows? Instragram?

Do you document the event as well, to preserve your feelings?

 Date and time and place and names?

Do you take interest in reading about special events in history?

Do you prefer to read about history in a novel?

Who are your favorite characters in history?

Chronicle (the verb) is the latest category under which these posts will be filed.

Roget’s Thesaurus lists the words chronicle and document under the verb ‘record’, to keep up the memoir of; to remember.

The posts in the Chronicle category will include any or all of the following:

  • History of individuals
  • History of nations
  • History of the world
  • History of specific people groups
  • History of a specific culture
  • Presented as fact or in fictional narrative
  • Expressed in original writing
  • Expressed in writing inspired by the work of others
  • Expressed in writing which showcases the work of others.

It will include information on how to chronicle, memoir writing, and resources which enhance the ability to chronicle.  It is keeping up the memory of, and remembering the past; to chronicle.

This category emphasizes the writing nature of this blog, from which I tend to stray.  The written word, with photographs, recording thoughts and crafting ideas.  Rather than having a Writing category which is used weekly, all categories will be Writing.  This one more specifically than others.

As you know I’ve been focusing on Twitter lately.  Today I decided it is time to focus on fellow writers and find support in groups of writers.  I am following a good number of them on Twitter and their blogs, but I haven’t been reading very much.  That is about to change.

Here are my goals:

  • I will read more about writing
  • I will read less about social media
  • I will spend time using social media
  • I will not spend time researching social media

I started writing, yes, actual writing, last week.  I don’t know why this is difficult to say, but it is.  I have struggled with not doing it for so long.  It is time.  This week has been a time of learning and growth for me.

Things are making sense to me, and I have confidence to move forward.  I am beginning to understand that I can do this, as long as I keep moving, and that I don’t have to have it all figured out before I start. {and I will learn to write for the reader, not myself 🙂 }

I hope that this is the beginning of a precious journey for you as a reader.

 I have no idea where it will lead us.  

But God knows, and He will use all of it in some way to teach us.

  I read this verse this morning, which I share with you now.  

God bless you as you chronicle your days, my friend!

Give unto the LORD the glory due unto his name;

Worship the LORD in the beauty of holiness.

Psalm 29:2

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

