A Collection of Letters {twitter tutorial #3}


In case you missed them, here are twitter tutorial #1 and twitter tutorial #2.

twitter photo: Twitter Twitter.jpg

 A Collection of Letters {twitter tutorial #3}

Remember the days of snail mail?  Of spending time crafting a letter of several pages to a friend or loved one on a regular basis?  Remember the joy of opening the mailbox and receiving a personal letter from your friend or loved one?

Those days appear to have been replaced by, or at least overshadowed by, social media.  Do you remember when you first started using a social media platform?  I went on Facebook so I could see what was going on in the lives of my adult children.  Those children have missed the privilege of receiving handwritten letters from me as adults.

Do you have a stash of old letters hidden away in a trunk or attic?  I do.  Letters to me and from me.  Sadly it has been years since I stopped writing letters.  It was not a conscious decision to do so.  It just happened.

Where were we?  In our last Twitter post we discussed the advantages of using LISTS.  

Just two more thoughts about LISTS.

  • #1  You have the option of making each of your lists either public or private.  If a list is public, it can be subscribed to by any of your followers.  If a list is private, it is locked so that no one but yourself can see it.  {Pinterest has a similar feature for private boards, though they are limited in number.}
  • #2  When you put one of your followers on a list, he knows.  I don’t know what it looks like, because I’ve not noticed that I was put on anyone’s list.  But I had a follower thank me for putting him on a list.  Just took me by surprise, that’s all.

Now, what about Followers?  Are you interested in increasing your Followers?  Are you looking for people to follow?

It is my opinion that the way to attract followers on both Twitter and Pinterest, is by being active.  If you are doing something, anything, not necessarily big in quantity but on a regular basis, both Twitter and Pinterest put your name out there as a suggestion for others to follow.  By following new people, and by reposting other people’s posts (as well as my own original ones), I am being seen by other people.

Granted, these may not all be people of my choosing, in which case I can ignore them.  Both of these sites, unlike a blog, enable the user to block a follower if they wish.  There is also a way to report a person who is abusing the system.  I’ve never had anyone bother me, but occasionally I have blocked people who don’t appear to have any similar interests.

[I recently discovered that, since I linked my Twitter and Pinterest accounts, the suggestions for people to follow on Pinterest are usually, if not always, my Twitter followers.  I also discovered that there is a list of  people who are on Pinterest, whom I follow on Twitter but have not followed on Pinterest.  This list is found by clicking on Find Friends.

This is helpful because it gives me more than a name to go by.  I can see their profile without too much clicking.  That’s more on the Pinterest side, but useful information.  I haven’t worked on learning how to increase Pinterest followers yet.  Mostly my focus is on Twitter.]

On Twitter there is the option of un-following people as well.  And there are apps that tell you how many new followers (as if I can’t count) and how many people un-followed you on a given day.

Another tip for Twitter, a social media etiquette tip, if you will, is to follow back anyone who follows you.  While it is polite to return the follow, I always check the person out to see if we truly have something in common beside being on Twitter (or Pinterest).

Along that same line, it is socially acceptable to request a follow from a person whom you are following.  I have had some success with this, but not always.  There are two ways to do this, and I’ve only used one.  I read somewhere that it’s better to send a message as a tweet, than to only send private messages.  It gives you greater exposure, if that is what you’re looking for.

The problem is that the person who doesn’t respond, may not have seen your tweet.  In that case, when seeking a return follow, it may be better to send a private message, to ensure it is received.  Or, if you send a public tweet, check to see if the person has been tweeting and is still tweeting.  They may have gone to bed, or it may be tomorrow where they are.

It is also possible that follow requests, along with new followers, may be generated mechanically and not by a person.  Some people request validation that you are a person.  I have followed the process and never heard again from the person, which makes me wonder if they really are a person.  (I mean they were checking me out for validation, which I gave.)

What experiences have you had on social media in following new people or being followed by people you don’t know in real life?  Do you think talking to strangers is a good thing?  How do you benefit from social media? 

twitter photo: Twitter twitter.jpg

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

