Never Too Old to Learn {twitter tutorial #2}


In case you missed it, the first Twitter Tutorial was last week.  

Here’s where we left off:

twitter photo: Twitter Twitter.jpg
Until recently, I hadn’t known how to find people with like interests.  We’ll save that for another post.  First we will talk about what to do with our followers, how to keep track of things, how to be organized from the get-go.  

We will also talk about how to get started in Twitter, as well as why Twitter is an important social media platform.

After I had been reading other peoples’ tweets for awhile, I began experimenting with my own tweets.  I soon became discouraged because I prefer some sort of response to my tweeting.  My first word of advice is to be patient.  These things take time.  Time to learn and time to work.  In many cases the other person is also in the learning stages and may not know even as much as you do, believe it or not!

Eventually one follower began responding to many of my tweets.  Now I have a new friend.  She is of my generation, a Christian farmer’s wife, who lives a few states west of me.  Hopefully she is the first of many friends whom I will meet on Twitter.  Perhaps there will be a special section in heaven for those who have met in cyberspace, who don’t know what their friends look like until reaching heaven!  (hmmm, that might be good fodder for a book)

Would you be interested in learning how to use LISTS on Twitter?  Up until yesterday I consistently ignored this option.  Yesterday I began making lists.  Are you a list person?  I am.  I love lists.  So this appeals to me right away. No matter how Twitter lists work, I know how to use lists.

Lists are for categorizing things.  One of my frustrations with Twitter has been that I have this long list of tweets every hour, sometimes they come in by the hundreds whilst I am off writing on my blog, all lumped together with no way to sort them out.  Ah, but that is what LISTS is for!

I wish someone had told me how to use it, and to use it right away when I started using Twitter.  That is my advice to you.  When you first start following people on Twitter, make categories of followers by using the LIST option.  Some examples of lists:

  • Mutual Followers List
  • List of Christian Women Bloggers
  • Authors of Christian Fiction
  • Authors of Christian non-fiction
  • Missions List (missionaries, mission agencies, and so forth).

{I also have lists of followers by the number of followers they have.  Just three:

  • Over 1,000 Followers
  • Over 5,000 Followers
  • Over 50,000 Followers

This is for my learning; just a few, not a huge collection, for me to study and learn from.  These are private lists.}

This way I can click on a LIST and see what just those people have been tweeting, rather than the entire list of hundreds of tweets.  It is much easier and simpler to look at a cross section than at the whole.  Currently there are 76 mutual followers, 100 total followers.  I can’t imagine what it would be like to have thousands, most of whom one has no idea who they are.

My aim is to get to know my mutual followers.  My experience with those who are using Twitter solely for marketing purposes is negative.  I respond best to those who, regardless of the numbers of their followers, take the time to be a person with me.  Many do not.  Those are the ones I unfollow (more on that at a later time).

Update:  Since drafting this post just over a month ago, the number of mutual followers has grown by 30, to 106, and there are 51 new followers, for a total of 131, one of whom is my son.

 
twitter photo: twitter twitter.png

7 thoughts on “Never Too Old to Learn {twitter tutorial #2}

  1. Cindy says:

    Thanks so much for these tutorials Joyce! I have been on Twitter for awhile but never tweet, just follow others. This list option will be very helpful; I love lists also. One of my 2014 goals is to become more tech savvy 🙂

    Like

    • thesilverofhisfining says:

      It’s taking me a long time to get the hang of Twitter. I am inconsistently trying to learn, balancing it with straightening up my Pinterest boards and writing posts. Do you use TweetDeck? That has helped me follow Twitter better, makes it less overwhelming. Yesterday I found out that tweets can be scheduled. That will help. Pins too, can be scheduled. All a bit overwhelming… but we can learn!

      Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

