courage in the face of adversity


Just off the top of my head…or from the bottom of my heart, which has risen to the top, as cream.  

What is this slump in blog reading called?  Where did you people go?  Those are the questions.  There are no answers.  The answer is that my purpose here is to write, not to be heard.  I need to readjust my focus.  On the writing.  On the process.  Not on the result.

Tomorrow’s post is another twitter tutorial.  About now I want to run away from twitter, from the users who misuse it, from injustice period.  But that is not how life works.  And that is what all of this is about.  All the passages from God’s Word, all the hymns, all the theology.  These are not empty words.  They live.  They are the Word of God, the living Word of God, that lives in us, and gives us the strength to go through whatever it is we are going through.

For as the sufferings of Christ abound in us, so our consolation also aboundeth by Christ.

And whether we be afflicted, it is for your consolation and salvation, which is effectual in the enduring of the same sufferings which we also suffer; or whether we be comforted, it is for your consolation and salvation.

And our hope of you is steadfast, knowing that, as ye are partakers of the sufferings, so shall ye be also of the consolation.

2 Corinthians 1:5-7

Two things we know for sure from this passage.  There will be sufferings and there will be consolation, both in Christ.  The sense of that being that without the sufferings there will be no consolation.  There will be no need for consolation.  We would not know the part of Christ which is our consolation.  We would in essence remove His usefulness from our lives. {my thoughts}

My passage in Proverbs, 1:7-19, speaks of those who are “greedy of gain, which takes away the life of the owners thereof.”  It is one thing to make enough money to live on.  It is quite another to become obsessed with making money.

Psalm 5:8 says, “Lead me, O LORD, in thy righteousness because of mine enemies; make thy way straight before my face.”

And verse 11 says, “But let all those who put their trust in thee rejoice; let them ever shout for joy because thou defendest them; let those also who love thy name be joyful in thee.”

And finally, verse 12 says, “For thou, LORD, wilt bless the righteous; with favor wilt thou compass him as with a shield.”

David was a warrior who fought and killed Goliath.  He was praised for slaying thousands.  And yet these verses are David’s prayer to God.  He was a mighty man, yet he came humbly to his God to pray for guidance.  He is an example to me.  If David can do this, so can I.  If David received his consolation in suffering by Christ, so can I.

This is the sort of post that ends up in the trash.  I hope when I finish putting my thoughts here, to hit the Publish button.  I will worry.  Worry that it was not planned.  Not done properly.  Not edited enough.  Too rough.  Worry that it will offend.  That it will not be read.  That it should be written privately, not in public.  Worry that it is harsh.  Not perfect.

I have spent many hours in the past weeks studying and learning about social media and blogging.  I have looked at other blogs, tried new things, seen some results, wished for more, focused on various parts of the process, sacrificed reading time for learning to improve this craft, and spent innumerable hours trying to connect with likeminded people.

I know the process is a process, a slow one.  And it is difficult in this day and age not to wish for immediate results.  Most of the time I don’t even know what it is I am shooting for.  What is it that I wish to accomplish?  What does God wish for me to accomplish?  And does it really matter what the end result is, or is it all about the process?

The process is going well.  I am learning.  I am being humbled.  I am, probably for the first time, excitedly reading the Word, taking it to heart, listening, learning.  I am seeing things about my life, about myself, that I have not yet faced.  I am understanding that God has things to tell me that I have been ignoring for some time.  I am learning that I need preparation for what lies ahead.

Yesterday I started organizing my notebook notes for the past five months.  Not a huge job, but big enough.  Hard to stick to, easier to be distracted.  Today I had a lightbulb moment about where I am headed.  But I know it is going to take time.  And I know I need to write.  There is much about me that has not been spoken of here.  Not intentionally,  just not yet.

I need to learn to write for the writing, not for the response.  How do I do that?  I need to spend more time in the presence (online) of other writers.  I need to start trusting the process.  I thought I needed to do it a certain way, maybe not so much.  Maybe I need to just let go and go with it.

I do have a few questions for my readers, if I have any left.

  • How many posts per week is comfortable for your reading?
  • What makes you stop reading a post?
  • Do you like scheduled topics or do you prefer randomness?
  • What are you looking to take with you from a blog post?
  • Describe a perfect blog post in twenty-five words or less.

I will be filled with courage in the face of adversity (that’s supposed to be in the top of the post, for SEO). I will be determined to carry on.  I will write.  I will keep proceeding as God guides me.  I will learn from the process.  And I will work on my word for the year, which I haven’t told anyone yet, MODERATION.  Yikes!  that’s about as impossible as a zebra changing his stripes!  Impossible for me to do in my own strength.  But with God nothing is impossible.

1051 words        for your viewing entertainment, if you have not already seen them…

 

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

