Christmas Memories {the ugly white tree}


My daughter asked about a picture of herself decorating ‘the ugly white tree’ way back when.

I was planning this post to be about the kids’ Christmases.

Sadly I don’t have many photos of their first years.  That’s a story for another time.

Let’s see what I can find to share.

Image

I think we have some wonderful memories of times spent together as a family.

We made the best of what we had, and didn’t dwell on what we lacked.

My memory is that each year the gift opening time became more special,

as the children took turns opening gifts,

watching to see each other’s and the adults’ reaction.

Of course there were fewer gifts as they grew, but that did not lessen the excitement.

And now the gift of being together when they can is enough.

God is good to put us in families, is He not?  Ah, I’ve brought tears to my own eyes now.

Let’s get on with it, shall we?

The collage above will have to do for now.

{Life got in the way.}

Words will do.

The ugly white tree was a generous gift by a neighbor who was also a single mom.

The tree wasn’t white.

It was artificial, of course.

It was made to look as if the branches were snow laden.

I was grateful for the tree and the extra used ornaments she shared with us.

We were starting over.

From nothing.

I read on someone else’s blog today that not everyone is celebrating Christmas with glitter this year.

Some have loved ones who are ill.

Some will not recover.

Some have just lost a loved one this year.

Some have lost their home.

Or all their belongings.

Or their marriage.

Or their job.

But that blog reminded us that the first Christmas was not celebrated with glitter either.

Christmas is not about the tree.

Or the glittery things with which we decorate it.

It is about the gift which we enjoy every day of the year.

Jesus Christ our sacrifice on Calvary.

Enough words.

Next chance I get, I will put those ancient photos of my then littles…

4 thoughts on “Christmas Memories {the ugly white tree}

  1. Toni says:

    We do get caught in the hustle and bustle of the season and forget the humble entrance of the Savior. I enjoyed your story and look forward to the photos of your children. Have a great week, Joyce.

    Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

