Harry’s Last Christmas


My grandfather’s name was Harry Leigh Dennison.  For writing purposes he will be referred to as Harry.  I was two years old when he died.  His last Christmas was just weeks before he died.

This post is a photo journal of Harry’s Last Christmas.

Christmas Eve - cousin Cindy, Harry, Aunt B(eulah)

Christmas Eve – cousin Cindy, Harry, Aunt B(eulah)

These are the last photos of Harry.  He died when I was two (and a half) years old.

Christmas dinner - me, my mom, Harry, and Florence

Christmas dinner – me, my mom, Harry, Beulah, and Florence

same photo in reverse and color

same photo in reverse and color

Harry, Beulah, and me playing with my new clothesline

Harry, Beulah, and me playing with my new clothesline

What my aunt has in her lap were a type of plastic building blocks that fitted into each other.  They were varying shapes and colors, rather a dim recollection.  There were jointed pieces, elbows.

 Ring a bell with anyone?

Not sure what B is doing. I'm washing aluminum pans and putting them in the plastic drainboard.  Harry looks bored.

Not sure what B is doing. I’m washing aluminum pans and putting them in the plastic drainboard. Harry looks bored.

Me, the tree, and my loot.  Used that high chair for many years.

Me, the tree, and my loot. Used that high chair for many years.

A picture with Teddy

A picture with Teddy

Joyce 2yrs. 7mos.  1 Cook Terrace, Woburn  Dec1958

Cousin Cindy and I with our new red mittens, playing church

Cousin Cindy and I with our new red mittens, playing church with our dolls

Joyce Christmas 1958

Joyce Christmas 1958

Joyce Christmas 1958

One of the things I did on my 2013 Road Trip was to visit my grandparents’ graves, both sets of them.

Harry and Florence, are buried in the town they settled in when they came from Nova Scotia in 1923.

The same town in which I raised my children (the place we lived the longest).

Aunt B is buried with them.  They are all waiting to welcome us to heaven.

DSCN8175

DSCN8174

5 thoughts on “Harry’s Last Christmas

  1. Cindy says:

    I’m so happy to see these photos and glad you got a shot of the gravestone. Your memory is much better than mine to remember what we were playing! Aunt B was such a beautiful lady, inside and out. Thanks for posting these 🙂

    Like

    • thesilverofhisfining says:

      Interesting. Many, including my grandparents, came because there was no work in Nova Scotia. They came one at a time and sent for the next man when a new job opened up. My grandfather came in April (I think) and sent for his family in July.

      Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

