On Distant Shores {and traveling at a snail’s pace}


On Distant Shores (Wings of the Nightingale, #2)On Distant Shores by Sarah Sundin
Anxiously waiting for my birthday giveaway copy to arrive in the mail from the author.

View all my reviews

Not too long ago I was pleasantly surprised to find that I am one of the winners of Sarah Sundin’s birthday giveaway on her blog, Under His Wings.  My prize was to be a copy of her book, On Distant Shores.  I received an email from Sarah on the twelfth of November saying that she would get that out to me soon.  Sadly, I am still waiting.

I had planned to read this book next.  It is a strange feeling not to be reading anything.  Akin to being unclothed or in strange surroundings.  I am among the many who always have at least one book going, if not several at the same time.  This has been my world, particularly in the absence of loved ones nearby.

Have any of you read any of Sarah’s books?  She is new to me.  Maybe not.  Can you tell I am disappointed?  Every day when I go to the mailbox my hopes rise just a tad, and then fall again.  Ah well.  Such is life.  On to bigger and better things.  Hopefully better.  That’s always the plan, isn’t it?  Bigger and better?

Here’s Plan B.  Amongst my rambling will be pictures of the public library in the town where I grew up.  The old and the new {bigger and better}, which I visited this summer on my road trip.

The rear entrance of the new library, where I entered from the parking lot.

The rear entrance of the new library, where I entered from the parking lot.

As you look at the photos, think hot, very hot, in the nineties and very humid.  It was just too hot to be outside, but I had to have these pictures 🙂  I have wonderful memories of the old library.  I’m glad it hasn’t been taken down.  The new one was built a couple of years ago.  It is beautiful, and quite green, and the air conditioning is heavenly 🙂

The new library is across the street from the old one.

The new library is across the street from the old one.

Last night (and early this morning) I worked on my blog.  At first I was working on the Bible Reading Schedule, but then I wanted to make my blog appearance work better for the reader.  If you have any critical suggestions, now is the time.  I am all ears.  Seriously.  Navigational stuff and ease of finding things.

The first thing I did was make the header picture smaller.  Actually I changed it, and intentionally kept it small so that you no longer have to scroll down to read the post.  Duh, why hadn’t I noticed that before??  I apologize for that inconvenience.

The front entrance of the new library opens onto Main Street.

The front entrance of the new library opens onto Main Street.

Last night I spent considerable time going through WordPress themes, looking for a wider post.  Apparently that is a thing of the past.  The newer designs are quite skinny.  Perhaps because the younger set does not care to read.  But my blog is writing and I want the reading to be central.

I did find a few that fit the bill.  I won’t make the change just yet.  There are a few other things I would like to figure out first.  And I thought a heads up might be in order before I make a big change, so you don’t think you’ve landed on the wrong page!

Happened to me today, attempting to log in to my online bank, somehow got on the wrong account, asking for an answer to a confidential question — ‘what is the name of your oldest brother?’.  I got out of there fast!  Not my account.  No brothers.

DSCN6661 - Version 2

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

