Jim, Silver, and Captain Flint {treasure island}


Finished.  I have to get stern with myself sometimes 🙂  with books not in my preferred genre.  Excitedly awaiting a package in the mail.  I won a book in an author’s giveaway!  More on that later.  For now, here’s my review of Jim, Silver, and Captain Flint.  What book have you finished recently?  What are you reading now?

 

Treasure IslandTreasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I bought this used copy last year. It is like new.
And this truly is {my intention} the last classic I will read, at least for the sake of being a classic. Yes, I have read it before. I vaguely remembered it as I went along, and I did know the ending, or guessed it, before getting there. Which made it hard to finish. And I do not like the ending. I would like to rewrite the story.
The characters are fantastic. The writing is excellent. I could use a dictionary in hand for some archaic terms, and yet there are many which are still used today, which I found fascinating. Slang type words. The descriptions are fantastic. The island seemed to grow huge by the ending of the book. It truly is a fantastic tale.
And yet I do not care for it. It’s a boys’ story. It’s all adventure. If there’s depth, I missed it. I would read it to my grandson, but I wouldn’t read it again for myself. It’s a classic. It has and will continue to stand the tests of time. Here’s to you, Jim Hawkins! Sail on!

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Jim, Silver, and Captain Flint {treasure island}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

