{s}Print into 2014 {Bible Reading Schedule – Part 1}


Three weeks ago, on October 28, 2013, the basic 2014 Bible Reading Schedule was laid out as follows:

Here’s the plan.  BIBLE READING SCHEDULE

  • Every Day:  Chronological Narrative book (there are 40)
  • Weekdays:  Letters, whole book for 2 or more weeks (there are 21)
  • Six Days:  Psalms, one chapter every two days
  • Six Days:  Proverbs, brief passage or verse daily

2014 BIble Reading Schedule

It’s time to be date and chapter specific.  Please keep in mind that this is an original plan, in the trial stage, it has not been tried and proven (yet).  You are welcome to use this for your own personal use only.  I will let you know when it is in downloadable format.

WEEK ONE looks like this:

  • Every Day:  Genesis – Numbers  (divided, see below)
  • Weekdays:  James – whole book every day, weekdays for three weeks
  • Six Days:  Psalms 1-3  (two days per Psalm)
  • Six Days:  Proverbs 1:1-6

I decided to start the schedule on Monday, which meant starting before the first of the year, just to get in the weekday groove.  The week runs Monday through Sunday.  I generally read while eating breakfast, before I start my day, and at the end of the day, before going to sleep.

This schedule is going to require a change, an additional two readings, and a longer evening reading.  I’m thinking that either the Psalm or the Proverb (or both) could be done ‘on the go’, in little minutes of time in between things, and possibly more than once a day.  The Psalms and Proverbs are to be meditated on, and will eventually have a devotional to go with them.  The intent is that they will be lived rather than merely read.

DSCN8979

Monday, December 30:  PROV. 1:1-6, PS. 1, JAMES, GEN. 1-25

Tuesday, December 31:  PROV. 1:1-6, PS. 1, JAMES, GEN. 26-50

Wednesday, January 1:  PROV. 1:1-6, PS. 2, JAMES, EX. 1-20

Thursday, January 2:  PROV. 1:1-6, PS. 2, JAMES, EX. 21-40

Friday,   January 3:  PROV. 1: 1-6, PS. 3, JAMES, LEV. 1-27

Saturday, January 4:  PROV. 1:1-6, PS. 3, NUM. 1-18

Sunday, January 5:  NUM. 19-36

Chronological Narrative by Day:

  • Day One: Genesis 1-25
  • Day Two:  Genesis 26-50
  • Day Three:  Exodus 1-20
  • Day Four:  Exodus 21-40
  • Day Five:  Leviticus 1-27
  • Day Six:  Numbers 1-18
  • Day Seven:  Numbers 19-36

2014 Bible Reading Schedule

As far as format, I think I’ll continue to write the morning reading into my actual monthly planning calendar on my desk (by hand).  The Proverbs passage or verse I will print and put into a pocket notebook which can go with.  If you have a smartphone or iPad you might wish to store them there (or all of them).  I don’t have one.  And the Chronological Narrative Books will need a printed schedule to keep in the Bible used in the evening, or whenever you choose to read them.

In the next post I will try my best to work on the Chronological Narrative Books’ schedule, suitable for printing.  This is all new to me — can you tell? 🙂  I am enjoying it though.

I’m also thinking about giving the first week a run through before the kids come for Christmas, because I’m still going to have a baby in the house when this schedule should start, and I have a feeling that won’t go as planned.  He’s not technically a baby any more.  He is now drinking whole milk and eating meat and walking and starting to talk.  Can’t wait to see him!  I bought a few toys tonight so he won’t be bored when he’s here.  I know I won’t be {bored, that is}.

2014 Bible Reading Schedule

18 thoughts on “{s}Print into 2014 {Bible Reading Schedule – Part 1}

  1. Elaine says:

    What a lot of work trying to divide everything equally. Good job! Aren’t grands wonderful? I have a 3.5 and a 10 month and I will be flying to see them the first part of December.

    Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

