{Tho the angry surges roll} My Anchor Holds


This hymn was written in 1902 by W.C. Martin (lyrics) and Daniel B. Towner (music).  It is in the public domain.

I listen to Family Radio (on the radio, but they are also streaming online) on my way to and from work.  I believe I heard it there this week.  I especially like the bass part in the refrain, but the message is what really speaks to me.

The anchor room on an aircraft carrier

The anchor room on an aircraft carrier

No matter what, God is a sure anchor.  Let’s have a look over on Youtube for a recording of My Anchor Holds (I love a cappella, even when it’s not professional).  These young guys do a fair job, though the bass is sung high.  {I looked long and found little.}

{Here is another song with similar title, The Anchor Holds.  The video is fantastic, of ships at sea.}

My Anchor Holds

Tho the angry surges roll on my tempest driven soul,  I am peaceful, for I know, wildly tho the winds may blow, I’ve an anchor safe and sure that can evermore endure.

And it holds, my anchor holds! Blow your wildest, then, O gale,  On my bark so small and frail:  By His grace I shall not fail, for my anchor holds, my anchor holds.

Mighty tides about me sweep, perils lurk within the deep, Angry clouds o’ershade the sky and the tempest rises high;  Still I stand the tempest’s shock, for my anchor grips the Rock.

I can feel the anchor fast as I meet each sudden blast, And the cable, tho unseen, bears the heavy strain between; Thru the storm I safely ride till the turning of the tide.

Troubles almost ‘whelm the soul, griefs like billows o’er me roll, Tempters seek to lure astray, storms obscure the light of day:  But in Christ I can be bold– I’ve an anchor that shall hold.

And it holds, my anchor holds!  Blow your wildest, then, O gale, On my bark so small and frail:  By His grace I shall not fail, For my anchor holds, my anchor holds.

One thought on “{Tho the angry surges roll} My Anchor Holds

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

