The Milkweed House {part two of two}


In case you missed it, Part One is here.  We just visited the library and school where I attended first grade, oh so many years ago, in Hinsdale, Massachusetts.  They are on the corners of Maple Street, where I lived.  Now to find the house.  This was an exciting moment for me.  I had looked it up on a satellite map, and was pretty sure the house was still there…  and it was!  Just exactly as I remembered (the road and neighboring houses).  But first…

The house where PAT lived.

The house where PAT lived.

Just around the curve...

and just around the curve…

A new shop across the street

A new shop across the street

Just like that, here it is!

Just like that, here it is!

DSCN6223 - Version 2

Scan 42 - Version 2

DSCN6220 - Version 2

The porch is different on the side.

The porch is different on the side.

The house looks huge to me.  I don’t think we lived in the whole thing, but I don’t remember anyone else living there either.  We rented, of course.  (My father was working in NH, came home on weekends.  We moved to NH when school was out in June.)

Scan 45 - Version 2

These two houses are new, between our house and Pat's.

These two houses are new, between our house and Pat’s.

The hill behind the house on the right is where the milkweed grew.  There was, and still is, a golf course behind these properties, and down the road to the left.

The golf course.

The golf course.

(Below) Looking at Pat’s house from our house.  Pat was younger than I, the youngest in her family of big brothers.  I remember her sending postcards from Florida.  She gave me the copy of Mary Poppins which I still own.

DSCN6209 - Version 2

Scan 40 - Version 2That (above) is where there are two new houses.

And it was at Pat’s that I first watched just a wee part of the Wizard of Oz on television.  We didn’t own a TV, and I was petrified of the house being taken up into the sky.  I remember the feeling of fear, and going into a bedroom to get away.

Milkweed hill.  I loved playing with the pods.

Milkweed hill. I loved playing with the pods.

Scan 41 - Version 2

Easter Sunday.  I think my Grandmother was visiting.

Easter Sunday. I think my Grandmother was visiting.

{Sorry, I got this picture in twice.}  It had been a rough winter.  I was hospitalized with pneumonia.  ~  My mother made the dress I’m wearing.  Can you see the rick-rack along the hem?  I think that dress is going to show up again next year 🙂

My seventh birthday.  Me, Mary, Tricia (aka Pat), Kathleen.

My seventh birthday. Me, Mary, Tricia (aka Pat), Kathleen.

Mary and Kathleen lived across the street but went to a different school I think, and because we weren’t allowed to cross the street on our own we didn’t play much.  The dishes are my mother’s china which my father sent her from Japan when he was stationed in Korea.

My mother's handiwork.

My mother’s handiwork.

When I was growing up there was a clear glass jar, rather good-sized, on the top shelf of the kitchen cupboard, in every house we lived in.  It held a collection of small wooden characters with a toothpick-sized stem underneath, into which could be inserted a birthday candle and it could be stuck into the cake, as seen in the photo above.  There was also a set of plastic pink, blue, yellow, and red candle holders.  I wonder whatever happened to them.  I included this photo in case it might bring back similar memories for you.  I loved getting that jar down to use those holders every year for my mother’s birthday.  And on that note, I bid you Godspeed.

4 thoughts on “The Milkweed House {part two of two}

  1. Magnolia Tea says:

    What a nifty old house! I love old houses, and they’re all the better with the stories of the people who lived there. What a nice thing to be able to go back and see it still there. The photos of you as a girl are priceless.

    Like

  2. Deb says:

    Love the photos, Joyce! It especially brings back memories seeing you in your Easter coat and hat and little purse. I have almost the exact picture of ME with a coat, hat and patent leather black purse. All the photos are wonderful.

    Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

