Letting Go and Letting God {have His way with me}


Many of the old hymns are in the Public Domain, as is His Way with Thee, by Cyrus S. Nusbaum.

Timeless Truths has a free online library, which includes hymn information.  They have other resources beside the music, including the whole Bible on audio (online).  This is my first visit to their site.  It’s the first one I’ve seen that listed the Copyright: Public Domain information, which is linked to the Creative Commons’ website.

DSCN8168 - Version 2

Tillie, letting her owner have her way 🙂

No hymn story. Nusbaum was a Methodist evangelist in Kansas.  He wrote both words and music.

Here’s another hymn attributed to Nusbaum, found on Hymnary.org, another new to me site.  It’s called Jesus Is the Best Friend to Me.  I’ve not heard of it before.  It is also in the Public Domain.  I’ll let you look at the link rather than printing it here.

Letting Go and Letting God {have His way with me} was brought to mind when I read Oswald Chambers’ October 25th entry in My Utmost For His Highest.  The title is THE ETERNAL CRUSH OF THINGS {which is what you type to find a particular entry — the title}.

Chambers uses 1 Cor. 9:22, which says, “I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.”  (KJV)  He ends the devotional with the sentence, “Let Him have His way.”  [Copyright 1963, Discovery House Publishers, Grand Rapids, Michigan]  I don’t know about you, but I find that a difficult challenge.

This is a nice audio of His Way with Thee on Youtube.  It’s good for singing along.

His Way with Thee

Would you live for Jesus and be always pure and good?  Would you walk with Him within the narrow road?

Would you have Him bear your burden, carry all your load?  Let Him have His way with thee.

His pow’r can make you what you ought to be,  His blood can cleanse your heart and make you free,

His love can fill your soul, and you will see  ‘Twas best for Him to have His way with thee.

Would you have Him make you free, and follow at His call?  Would you know the peace that comes by giving all?

Would you have Him save you, so that you can never fall?  Let Him have His way with thee.

Would you in His kingdom find a place of constant rest?  Would you prove Him true in providential test?

Would you in His service labor always at your best?  Let Him have His way with thee.

His pow’r can make you what you ought to be,

His blood can cleanse your heart and make you free,

His love can fill your soul, and you will see

‘Twas best for Him to have His way with thee.

—Cyrus S. Nusbaum, 1861-1937

This song has blessed my heart lately.  I hope it has yours as well.  One of those lifelong lessons, of letting go and letting God {have His way with me}.

One thought on “Letting Go and Letting God {have His way with me}

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

