The Milkweed House {part one of two}


This is the continuation of my 2013 Road Trip.  From the summer camp in Monterey I drove to Hinsdale, which is where we lived just prior to moving to New Hampshire.  I attended first grade there fifty-one years ago.

Image

Unbelievably, in the middle of July, no other vehicles on the road, and I get stuck following a school bus which is delivering students.  The picture is not in color intentionally, since I was on vacation and did not appreciate seeing the color or the bus!  Even more so because the driver did not let me pass.  No one hates following a bus more than a bus driver 🙂

Image

In the interest of time, and because I have no memories of the town, I did not check out the center of Hinsdale, which I suspect is quite small.

Image

I came first to the intersection I was seeking, that of the street on which we lived.

Image

It just happened that the library is on one corner, and the school, which has been greatly added on to, is on the other.

Image

This is the original building, which is now the back, which faces the street.  I have a memory of the school, but mostly inside the classroom.  Being there didn’t spark any memories.

Image

I went into the library and spoke with the librarian, who is younger than I, and did not grow up there.   She was only able to tell me that this is the same building that was there in the 60s.

Image

The library is much the same as it was, but did not seem familiar to me.  Fun being there though.  {If you’re interested in the architecture of the building click here.  There are five pages.  Click at the bottom of each to continue.}

Image

In Part 2 we’ll take a journey up Maple Street, also known as Route 143, to the ‘Milkweed House’.

3 thoughts on “The Milkweed House {part one of two}

  1. Toni says:

    What fun to visit ;places from your childhood. Love the architecture of the library, it’s really pretty.
    Having to follow a school bus is a draaaaaaag! lol
    Have a great day!

    Like

  2. thesilverofhisfining says:

    Ha! good for you, Toni. I did not particularly notice the architecture (shame on me, my father was an architectural draftsman). I’ve added a link (in the post) to the library website, as well as one to the lovely walkthrough of the library’s architectural treasures. {http://hinsdalelibrary.org/walkthrough.html}

    Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

