Sneak Peek {into 2014}


DSCN6138 - Version 2

Bash Bish Falls

Today is the fourth of November already.  Where did October go?  The new year is just around the corner.  Things are going to get busy around here shortly.

On the 23rd of January, 2011 I made a fifteen year Bible memorization plan.  Twelve books in fifteen years.  In 2011 a blogger friend challenged her readers to memorize a whole book of the Bible.  The plan was (for Colossians) on Holy Experience, Ann Voskamp’s blog.

So I started in 2011 to memorize Colossians.  In 2012 I worked on 1 John.

Why not plan out the rest of my life while I’m at it?  Sounds ridiculous in a way, but hey.  I had all these books I wanted equally to choose to memorize, so I just made a plan.

At two verses a week, that’s about one hundred verses a year.  So I did the math and broke the larger books down into multiple years.  That’s where I’m starting in 2014.  My first large book.

2 Corinthians has, well let’s just say three years’ worth of verses.  The number is daunting.  I will be memorizing ninety-six verses, chapters one through five.

There you have it.  That’s the plan.  I’ll be printing those verses up and putting them in my pocket calendar, and putting them into Scripture Typer week by week.  Looking forward to 2014.  How about you?

DSCN6138 - Version 3

4 thoughts on “Sneak Peek {into 2014}

  1. Toni says:

    Sounds like a good plan to me. I just found out about scripture typer recently, so I’m beginning the first chapter of Romans. This is a real at my age to be sure. Have a great day.

    Like

    • thesilverofhisfining says:

      Too funny! I thought it would be harder to memorize later in life, but I’m actually finding it easier because I don’t have so many things on my mind as I did when raising children. God will bless your effort, I’m sure. I think Scripture memorization might have a special grace that goes with it just for effort. 🙂 Thanks for the comment. Happy Monday to you, Toni.

      Like

  2. Deb says:

    Another late comment, Joyce. But I wanted to say thank you for the Scripture Typer reference. I’ll need to go there and check it out. I am VERY impressed with your memorization plan!! I agree with the blessings that come from memorizing scripture. Even though it’s later in life for me…my mind isn’t free as I still have a lot of things brewing since 3 adult children still live here!

    Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

