Stolen Goods or Legal Copy ? {quotes and pics}


So here’s the deal.  I prayed about it.  I slept on it.  Not much, but I slept and dreamed {about being online}.  I prayed again.  And I thought about it, a lot.  Bottom line:  delete what can’t be linked to original source.
http://thesilverofhisfining.tumblr.com/post/61886804336/wisconsin-harvest-photos-are-mine
Tumblr blog.  Cut the blogs followed in half or so.  Changed focus from those who reblog, to those who post original material, or link the source.

As for the photos (re-blogged) on my tumblr blog, I am working through them (700+).  If they are Flickr photos or the original source can be found, the link is being put on the post, and  if not deleted.

Can’t explain how it feels, and it is a feeling, to know that I allowed myself to be sucked into this thing, participating in the distribution of ‘stolen goods’.  That is what it is when a person takes something of someone else’s and shares it with others as though it belonged to him.

At the same time, I struggle with my flesh, in its attraction to beautiful photos.  After all, they are of God’s creation, which reflects Who He is.  And so should I reflect His character, His holiness.

It took a bit of thinking to realize that I was effectively ignoring the fact that this was wrong.  Don’t get me wrong.  This is a personal conviction, not a judgment on others.  But for me, now that I listened, I know this is stealing, and I will make every effort to correct my wrong.

Pinterest.  My first Pinterest board is Books Worth Reading.  As far as I know it is legal to use a photo of the book cover.  That’s as far as I’ve gotten yet.  But the same criteria will be used for photos.  If they can be linked to the source, and the source has a share button, they will be linked and remain.

As to blog posts, the same.  If the post has share buttons, it is assumed that they are intended to share.  However, depending upon the nature of the post, it may be courteous to contact the author and let them know it is being re-posted or pinned (unless the author pinned it himself).

The Tumblr and Pinterest share buttons have been removed from my blog intentionally.  Eventually I will write something about that.

My blog posts.  Will possibly be missing photos and need revising after this is done.  Some of my posts will be tweeted on Twitter, some will not.  The lyrics will be removed.  I will use Youtube when possible, where the lyrics are often printed over the video.  {Youtube is legal because it is always linked to the source.}

After allowing my mindset to be influenced by the world, it may take some discipline to allow God to change my thinking {in doing}.  I am humbled by the realization of how far my thinking drifted,  attributing it to a cultural change and the technology age.  I don’t think these change our ethical standard or God’s laws, do you?

I’d love to hear what you think.  I apologize for my wordiness.  This is my way of working this through.  Thank you for your patience.  Hopefully I will be back on {God’s} track quickly.  I plan to continue posting as I go, though some may of necessity be reworking of previous posts.

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

