The Last Classic {treasure island}


This is the last classic {famous last words} I am going to read.  Not that I’ve succeeded in reading many.  I just don’t get them.  I don’t know why.

I’m not a fan of Jane Austen.  Or the Bronte sisters.  I tried reading Gulliver’s Travels.  Not so good.  And I managed to slog my way through Dickens’ Bleak House, just so I could say I’ve read one of his.

Last year I got the bright idea of reading books by authors Ann Voskamp reads.  Ann does not read fiction, however, and I like fiction.  I started with a biography of G.K. Chesterton.  That was fine.  (that was a library book)

I bought {at Half Price Books} a biography of Mark Twain,  Robert Louis Stephenson’s Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde {did not like} and Treasure Island, which is what I’m going to tell you about, and Chesterton’s The Man Who Was Thursday.

Most recently I tried to read G.K. Chesterton’s fictional The Man Who Was Thursday.  Tore it up and threw it away.  {paperback}  The theologian was using some language which is on my unacceptable list.

DSCN9367

Currently I am reading Treasure Island.  I think I confuse it with Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe, which I have read and enjoyed.  I’ve read less than twenty pages of Treasure Island, so I can’t comment yet.  It is engaging and descriptive.

Has anyone read Treasure Island?  Did you enjoy it?  What classics do you enjoy?  Perhaps you can shed some light on the topic.  If not convinced otherwise, classical fiction will be replaced by history and biography, which may not be a bad thing.  Any thoughts?

Thanks for stopping by.  Hope you’re having a good week.  I’m enjoying the World Series so far.  I don’t have a tv, so I listen to ESPN radio online and watch the tweets.  If you look at my twitter feed you can see which team I am rooting for.

3 thoughts on “The Last Classic {treasure island}

  1. Toni says:

    I know exactly what you mean. I don’t care for most of the classics, either, but I do enjoy a well-written novel, especially historical ones.
    We have been building a small library of books that fit that bill. One that we really, really love and found decent and entertaining is The Hidden Hand by E.D.E.N. Southworth. I don’t recommend a lot of books other than the Bible, but this one is worthy. I think you would like it if you haven’t read it already. Have a great day!

    Like

      • foothillsgsm says:

        I hadn’t heard of her before we started getting books through lamplighter.net, but we like it so much we also purchased Ishmael and Self-Raised. All good but The Hidden Hand is our favorite. Let me know what you think of it.

        Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

