On My Nightstand {that man of granite with the heart of a child}


I am currently reading —

DSCN9331

A biography of J.C. Ryle, That Man of Granite With the Heart of a Child: A New Biography of J.C. Ryle, by Eric Russell.  Published in 2001 by Christian Focus Publications.

Not sure where I picked this volume up, but I did buy it used sometime in the past year.  Not having heard of Ryle before, I was attracted by the title’s description of him.

Having read more than 100 pages now I am ready to share about the book.  This will be more about the subject than the writing.  Biography is always good, in my book.  I do like the Genealogical tree being in the front of the book, especially to sort out the several John Ryles.

John Charles Ryle was born in 1816, the fourth of six children and elder son, and was baptised in Christ Church (Church of England) in Macclesfield.  That being said, he was not converted to Christ until he left home for schooling.  His family gave him a hard time for being of evangelical persuasion.

The more I read of the book, the more apt the title becomes.  And how impressed I am with his unabashed stand to spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ, while serving as clergy in the Church of England, with no holds barred, no concern for the consequences.

As a result, God blessed his ministries, and his life, although it was not without hardships.  For me the book is an encouragement, an example of a fellowsoldier of Christ who walked by faith, accountable only to his Saviour.

The Bible was his sole authority.  He paid the greatest heed to those in his parish, caring for them.  And in his spare time, while raising a family, he wrote and published and distributed the Gospel in written form.

DSCN9332

This book is available from Christian Focus Publications.  I recommend it for your biography library.  I’m only half way through.  We’ll see how the second half goes.

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

