Keeping Bible Reading Fresh {2014 Bible Reading Schedule}


Keeping Bible Reading Fresh {2014 Bible Reading Schedule}

How do you keep something fresh that you’ve done hundreds of times?

 I don’t know that there’s one answer to this question.

I’ve eaten breakfast thousands of time in over half a century.

I love eating breakfast.  Often I eat the same thing every day.  It never gets old.

2014 Bible Reading Schedule

So what’s the deal with reading my BIble?

Maybe it’s my attitude.

Maybe I’m reading my Bible because I have to, rather than because I look forward to it.

Maybe it needs variety.

Maybe I’m reading too much.

2013 is the year of re-thinking my daily Bible reading.

For a few years I’ve been reading both morning and evening.

The Old Testament in the evening, because I have more time,

and the New Testament in the morning before work, on weekdays.

 On weekends I devote more time to my Scripture memory.

DSCN7405 - Version 2

So, what’s the plan?

Mix it up?

 Chronological?

 Fewer chapters?

 More chapters?

 Whole books at a time?

One book every day for a week?

I don’t have the answer yet.  Writing this post is supposed to motivate me to work through the questions.

If you have a method that you’d like to share, I’d love to hear it.  I’m thinking my new method will be original, to fit me.

DSCN7453 - Version 2

This previous post, Reading the Word, looked at possible methods for reading the book of Proverbs.

Back to the BIble’s website has a few Bible reading schedule options:

90-Day Bible Reading Challenge, for Genesis and three Gospels

This one’s different:  reading from a different part of the BIble on different days of the week {Poetry, History, Prophecy, Gospels, Epistles, Psalms}, from Bible-Reading.com.

Eword Today.com has this chronological schedule, which starts on the 1st or the 15th of any month.  I’m going to have a look at this one later.  There are different versions from which to choose.

DSCN7453

After mulling this over while driving {those screaming bus kids}

I am leaning toward a chronological reading,

which I’ve never done.

I’ll give myself another month to work on this.  Or should I say, give myself another month to let God guide my thinking in His direction?

What is your Bible reading schedule for 2014?

2 thoughts on “Keeping Bible Reading Fresh {2014 Bible Reading Schedule}

  1. Barbara H. says:

    I like reading the Bible through, too – I think it helps keep us in balance and it helps to read passages in context. But I do take a break sometimes to study out something I’ve been wanting to study or read a Christian non-fiction book. I have to be careful about the latter because I can tend to let that replace the Bible. I haven’t tried reading chronologically, but I have wanted to do that some time.

    Sometimes even though I’m coming up on a familiar passage and less than excited because I know what it is going to say, once I get there it is still a blessing to me.

    Like

    • thesilverofhisfining says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Barbara. I’m so excited about this! I think the reason I’ve stuck with the same Bible reading schedule is sheer laziness. I’m looking forward to this change, and seeing how God uses it to teach me.

      Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

