Paul’s Letter to God’s Family at Philippi


Getting organized is a discipline, one that is exercised by practice, like any discipline.  Bible memorization is also a discipline.  Writing blog posts in different categories requires discipline as well.  {Killing three ‘birds with one stone’}.  By the way, if you enjoy George Beverly Shea, there is a playlist at the bottom of the screen.  One of the songs is a favorite of mine, It Is No Secret {What God Can Do}.

Exactly.  Memorizing Philippians is no more an accomplishment for the learner than it was a personal accomplishment of the writer, the Apostle Paul.  It is the work of God, done to bring glory to God alone.  It need not be a secret.  It is a testimony to the grace and power of God in my life.

The letter, while written by Paul, is from both Paul and Timothy.  It is one of Paul’s prison epistles, written from Rome c. A.D. 60.  The letter was written to acknowledge a money gift from the church at Philippi, which one of its members, Epaphroditus, delivered to Paul.

The letter is full of rich doctrine, written to believers who were actively serving the LORD.  It presents great hope in God for the outcome of life on earth.  It portrays strong Christ-like qualities between those in the family of God.  It is a strengthening and encouraging letter, and provides much truth to those who memorize it, in part or in whole.

Philippians 4:1-3

Philippians 4:1-3

This is the passage I will be working on this week, as I continue to review the first three chapters using Scripture Typer.

Therefore, my brethren dearly beloved and longed for, my joy and crown, so stand fast in the Lord, my dearly beloved.

I beseech Euodias, and beseech Syntyche, that they be of the same mind in the Lord.

And I intreat thee also, true yokefellow, help those women which labored with me in the gospel, with Clement also, and with other my fellowlabourers, whose names are in the book of life.

Philippians 4:1-3

The way that I memorize is by printing the verses out and pasting them in a pocket calendar.  I then write the passage using the first letter of each word, in the space on that page.  Each morning I practice writing the verses using the first letter of each word while reading it aloud.

DSCN9276

At first I am pretty much copying it.  I use the verse numbers and punctuation to help me.  Sometimes the letters spell words or remind me of words.  Sometimes the verse makes sense so readily that it is easy to learn, or else it is a familiar verse to begin with.  Using Scripture Typer is fairly new to me.  For now I am continuing to write them out manually as well as type (copy) them, until I have them somewhat memorized.

Scripture Typer gives the option of copying, memorizing using every other word, and mastering by typing the entire verse.

Screen Shot 2013-10-12 at 10.09.23 PM

Depending on how many times I have practiced a verse, it sends me an email when I need to review that verse or passage.

I encourage you to work on memorizing Scripture.  You will not regret your effort.

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

