The Latest Dirt


No, I’m not going to talk politics!  I’ve been working on projects here this weekend, online.  I’m learning so fast my head’s going to explode…not really.  But I was successful in adding my email link.  It is on the Contact page.  There is also a photo of the author in the sidebar, which when clicked on will take you to the About page, which explains where the Contact box is for emailing me.

I included my other online handles in case you are confused.  All part of letting go the fear.  However, the names have been mine for a few years.  I like them.  My son-in-law has suggested that I be called Grammy-Jammy.  We’ll see what the baby decides.  By the way, he started walking yesterday!  Two very excited parents.  {If they only knew what they’re in for.}

Scripture Typer

Scripture Typer

Something new.  New to me, at least.  Scripture Typer is a site which aids immensely in the memorization of Scripture.  At least I hope it does.  It will take me a bit to get used to it, since it makes my brain work differently from what I’ve been doing by writing the first letter of every word.  It’s completely free and easy to learn.  Very helpful video instructions.

Twitter

Twitter

Twitter cleanup.  After increasing my follow-ing, thereby increasing the vast number of tweets per day, I decided to cut back.  Feeling convicted that these whom I was following were not particularly related to my priorities, I un-followed a bunch of them.  We’ll see how it goes tomorrow.  Some people are ‘off’ on Sunday.  More cuts may be warranted.

At any rate, those who remain, 97 of them, are neatly categorized under my priorities.  There is purpose in my life.  I will learn to focus on my purpose, or die trying 🙂

I achieved near perfect balance:  19 bloggers and 18 authors, 4 about writing and 5 about reading, 4 about food, 9 about social media (for future reference), 12 missions and/or missionaries, 4 evangelistic teams, and 2 churches.  Plus a few random ones, such as news, politics, and Honor Flight.  And the 5 that are related to where I come from and its history.

Not to mention one friend who is not a blogger but has a twitter account.  Most of my {real} friends, the people I have actually met, are on Facebook, not Twitter.  I’m holding out on Twitter for a bit.  There are a few blog friends there too.

I learned some other things, mostly just stumble upon them.  The best part of the day was using that Scripture Typer though.  Honestly, it was like Christmas morning!  {excitement}

Sarah Anne Marble

No, the best part of my day was talking to my birthday girl.  She’s nine hundred miles away.  So nice to hear her voice though.  She enjoyed the Red Sox game on Friday night, that’s the one they won 🙂  They are in first place in the AL East, in case you don’t follow MLB.  I don’t except in September, for obvious reasons.  If they’re at the top, that is.

And the article about Bobby Orr — do you remember him? — our Boston Bruin #4 from days gone by, possibly the most famous hockey player ever.  His autobiography is coming out in October.  Wikipedia has tons on Bobby Orr as well.

Bobby Orr, Bruin's #4

Bobby Orr, Bruin’s #4

Normally he doesn’t do interviews, but he did one for the Boston Globe.  It’s quite long, but sooo heartwarming.  He has done, and continues to do some wonderful things to help people.  Always has.

There’s a video too, that’s shorter than the article.  But the whole thing is good.  I’m so impressed that he stayed in MA.   He’s a Canadian.  My personal memory is of taking my children to Boston Common to get his autograph in the 1990s.  I never went to a Bruin’s game, but I remember hearing about him while I was growing up in New England.  He is a legend.  But he is a real ordinary person.

C.S. Lewis quote

C.S. Lewis quote

I’ll leave you with this question.  What is your opinion of C.S. Lewis?  Do you like his writings?  His fiction?  His non-fiction?  I listened to Randy Alcorn {what is your opinion of him?} speak last night.

The topic of the conference:  The Romantic Rationalist: God, Life, and Imagination in the Work of C.S. Lewis.

The topic of Alcorn’s message:  C.S. Lewis on Heaven and the New Earth: God’s Eternal Remedy to the Problem of Evil and Suffering.

I have never read any of Randy Alcorn’s books, nor heard him speak.  He is a good speaker.  He said a lot and I could follow him, though I was unfamiliar with many of his Lewis quotes.  Alcorn has an interesting testimony.

Heaven by Randy Alcorn

Heaven by Randy Alcorn

In Light of Eternity by Randy Alcorn

In Light of Eternity by Randy Alcorn

I’d be interested in your thoughts.  Did any of you hear any of the conference?  {It was streamed live on the internet.}

Back to the work week.  Hope yours is blessed.  I know God is watching over you.  He has given us some beautiful weather, has He not?  We have so much to be thankful for.

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

