And Now, the Rest of the Story…


{Photos in this post are from my 2013 Road Trip, taken in Mystic, Connecticut.  My mother is a Dennison.  This was my first visit to the Denison Homestead.  We are descendants of George Denison.}

Immediately upon finishing the previous post, I read the following in the September 12th entry of Oswald Chambers’ My Utmost For His HIghest:

“Ye know not what ye ask.”  Matthew xx. 22

There are times in spiritual life when there is confusion, and it is no way out to say that there ought not to be confusion.  It is not a question of right and wrong, but a question of God taking you by a way which in the meantime you do not understand, and it is only by going through the confusion that you will get at what God wants.

……When God looks completely shrouded, will you hang on in confidence in Him?

…..If there is a shadow on the face of the Father just now, hang onto it that He will ultimately give His clear revealing and justify Himself in all that He permitted.

…..Stand off in faith believing that what Jesus said is true, though in the meantime you do not understand what God is doing.  He has bigger issues at stake than the particular things you ask.

Oswald Chambers

The Denison Homestead, Mystic, CT

The Denison Homestead, Mystic, CT

And in the morning, when I work on my memorization of Philippians, these verses have  particular meaning:

Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended; but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:13-14

And therein I take my lesson.  To not get caught up in the circumstance, to not look back, but to keep reaching forth unto the prize which lies before us, as a runner in a race, straining forward to cross the finish line by a nose.

Field in front of Denison Homestead, Mystic, CT

Field in front of Denison Homestead, Mystic, CT

But wait.  There’s more…

Armed with new meaning and purpose, I ventured forth into yet another day of driving the bus.  No longer looking for glitches nor regarding circumstances which slip out of my control.

We are in a spiritual battle, are we not?  The enemy, whether Satan or my flesh, is always at the ready, waiting to trip up this runner.  Not in the driving of the bus, but in my brief hours at home in the middle of the day.

Without going into detail, let me just say that I needed to return a product to ATT and cancel my service.  I had two problems:  one, I could not access the service and two, because of my lack of service, I could not view my bill which was due the following day (today).

I needed to talk to a person at ATT.  I could not, for the life of me, figure out how to get that automated man who answers my call to connect me with a live person.  Has it happened to you?  Then you understand my frustration.

DSCN8291 - Version 2

I was frustrated.  I was not saying nice things to this auto-man, who kept telling me he could not understand my response.  It is funny now, when I think back on it.  Who talks to an automated person?!  Eventually I did get a person named Vicki in Ohio.  She cancelled my account and told me I could return the equipment.

But what I didn’t realize was that I needed a shipping label.  Another frustration, and let me say that the people, who happened to be women, at the post office and the UPS office were extremely polite and helpful.

After two trips to both the post office and the UPS office and another trip home to print the shipping label from my email, I managed to send the package off with the assurance that it would be paid for at the other end, and that I owe ATT nary a penny.

The Denison Homestead, Mystic, CT

The Denison Homestead, Mystic, CT

Praise God from Whom ALL blessings flow!  It was not easy.  It was extremely frustrating.  I was battling with my attitude the entire time.  But God gets the glory for being there all the while, for being entirely faithful, and for His extreme patience with me and His unending mercy.

To God be the glory, great things HE hath done!  {That is the end of the story.}

4 thoughts on “And Now, the Rest of the Story…

  1. Deb says:

    Ackk! This is what happens when i miss a day or so of checking blogs! I’ve just caught up on reading the school bus saga! I’m sure you’re relieved that it was no worse, although $1000 out of your own money is a big ouch!

    Love the Philippians verse, and I’ve enjoyed your writing these last posts. Looks like God is teaching you a lot!

    Like

  2. Deb says:

    p.s. all my in-laws are from Uncasville, CT, and my husband planned to propose to me in Mystic…however it was the middle of February and a snowstorm prevented it from happening exactly as planned. So we were engaged in his parents’ living room while the storm raged outside.

    Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

