From Main Street to the Corner House


ImageNote: Captioning goes with photo below.

This is the first apartment we lived in when we moved to New Hampshire in 1963.  Right in the middle on the second floor.  Building hasn’t changed a bit.

Image

This house sits where the little house was that we rented briefly.  The old house was closer to the road.  It’s grown up and over much more than it was then.  The house was owned by the veterinarian across the street, which is still there.

Image

Then we lived briefly in the upstairs of this house.  We moved too much 🙂

Image

We lived in this apartment building on Maple Street longer than any of the previous places.  It looks exactly the same as it did in the 1960s.  Only difference is the tree is gone.  Building is no different.  The owner lived upstairs in the back.

Image

These were my mother’s bedroom windows.  That’s the room where my mother led me to  trust Christ as my Saviour.

Image

The window with the fire escape (that’s new) was my bedroom.  The window with the air conditioner (we didn’t have one) was the living room.  The window in the dormer was the kitchen.  There was a pantry under the slope of the roof.  Someone had made a house and a barn into apartments, or maybe there were two houses originally.

Image

Our entrance, along with two other downstairs apartments.Image

Our hall window(s).  I remember watching out these windows when I waited for a ride to Sunday School.  Anxious moments, thinking someone had forgotten me.  They never did (forget me).  Under the eaves on either side were closets.  I had all my toys in the closet and played in there, rather in the dark.

.Image

And finally, we get to the ‘Corner House’, on the corner of Maple and Dana Streets.  Only half a block from the last place.  We lived here the longest.  It’s a duplex, side by side.  This was our side.

Image

Front porch/entrance to 18 Dana Street.  New storm doors.

Image

Beloved back porch.  Driveway on Maple Street.  This place looks so much the  same, hardly changed at all.  Living room, dining room, kitchen, and three bedrooms, and full basement.

Image

Spent lots of time sitting on the porch.  Notice the view of Vermont 🙂

Image

Here are a few old photos of the same houses.  The first one is the little house across from the veterinary clinic.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

So that’s the tour.  There was one more when I was in high school, but I’ll leave that for now. You’re probably ready for a rest from this much touring.  Thanks for letting me share my trip with you.  I sure enjoyed seeing all the old places.  Next time we’ll tour the schools.

7 thoughts on “From Main Street to the Corner House

  1. Cindy says:

    I believe the house on Maple Street was where we visited you when I was young, maybe pre-teen. The full shot of the house and the front entrance look very familiar to me. My memory of that visit was in the kitchen and playing in the back. I’m so glad you have these photos to share. All of our old family homes had such character back then. I need to get up to Mass. and take some pics as well 🙂

    Like

    • thesilverofhisfining says:

      I’ll have to dig in my photos… most of my memories are from the photos. I do have memories of the house across from the vet though, with only that one photo. My mother had a garden in the back, and I think I had a pool. There was an old chicken coop and a pheasant house with vines growing all over it. One of few single family homes I’ve lived in ever. Thanks for stopping by, Cindy!

      Like

      • Cindy says:

        Yes I’m sure that was the house; I remember walking around old boards and vines in the backyard. I might have stayed there without my parents. I remember making caramel popcorn balls in the kitchen with you and your Mom!

        Like

      • thesilverofhisfining says:

        Sounds like fun! That’s the house that’s no longer there. It’s the first one of the old photos, with the old car in it. I only have two photos, both of the front. I had two rooms for my bedroom, one for my bed and one for toys. How extravagant!

        Like

  2. thefisherlady says:

    I also love history and have always gone back to my old beginnings and checked out the old homes and what has stayed the same or what has changed. I loved my youth and all the many places I have lived. This was great fun following your journey. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

